A Sailing Newbie

20 October 2008 | Brooklyn, NY
20 November 2007 | Brooklyn, NY

A more experienced sailor.

20 October 2008 | Brooklyn, NY
Michael Vaccari
Well, I've had the Aloof for two seasons, now.

I've run her aground several times, put her on the rocks once, hit a submerged wreck and was pushed into the pilings while trying to dock against a current.

I've sailed across the Ambrose Channel in NY Harbor to Sandy Hook, up the Hudson River to watch the Macy's 4th of July Fireworks, up to the runways of JFK airport to see the jumbos taking off 20 ft over my head.

I found out that good old boat "takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'!" Hull #158, built in 1975, is one solid boat, yet she sails like a queen! This Sunday, 10/19/2008, she sailed out of Rockaway Inlet, Brooklyn, NY into 16 mph winds and she handled beautifully. We hit 7 knots, the most fun you'll have at 10 miles per hour!

I'm going to sail her right up to Christmas, if the weather holds.
Comments
Vessel Name: Aloof
Vessel Make/Model: Newport 28
Hailing Port: Brooklyn, NY