SV Alex II

Te kore te wiwia

16 March 2012
25 February 2012
31 January 2012
05 January 2012
02 January 2012
02 January 2012 | La Paz, Mexico
24 December 2011
11 December 2011 | La Paz area
23 November 2011 | La Paz
17 November 2011 | La Paz
16 November 2011 | La paz
12 October 2011 | Mazatlan
27 September 2011 | Mazatlan, Mexico
24 September 2011 | mazatlan
15 September 2011 | Mazatlan
03 September 2011 | Still mazatlan
26 August 2011
24 August 2011 | Mazatlan
21 August 2011 | Mazatlan

Rain, Rain and more Rain

24 August 2011 | Mazatlan
Last night I witnessed the biggest downpour so far, according to my dockside buckets, it rained a good 5-6 inches. During the day i had inspected the bottom using a hookah, the marina water was actually fairly clean for a change. Today it looks like brown soup. Even Reuben who cleans the bottoms of most peoples boats in the marina did'nt go in the water today. It was a day for chores inside the boat, open and close the thru hulls, start the engine, start the geni, flush the electtic toilets thru ( I have not been using the sea water flush) been using Fresh water flushing. Argh what a stink flushing the trapped sea water thru the system. Of course I took a chunk out of my skull on the normal nut I catch with my head when I open and close the scupper thru hulls. Only this time the blood loss was substantial, I felt a trickle running down my face and thought to myself, it's not that hot to be sweating that much, wiped away the sweat and went to pick up the wrench.....jesus where did all that blood come from. Went into the head to look in the mirror as i could now feel drops of blood from the ned of my nose and chin..............it looked like someone had hit me with an axe. Stop the blood by inserting a kitchen towel under my Golf cap and 10 mins later, it had stopped. The cut was tiny no more than 1.0 cm, maybe slightly more. Needless tpo say I removed the nut and bolt which catches me everytime. Showered up at the end of the day ready for a night out at the Pizza place, and of coarse washed off the small scab..............got out of the shower and 2 mins later am covered in blood again!!!!!
Oh well, something I am just going to have to get used to. Need to buy one of those sticks the old time barbors used when they nicked your eat. Asked a few pharmacies but they just look at me and stare. I was never that good at charades so my rendition of shaving , cutting my face and jamming an imaginery stick onto the cut and smiling is obviously not stirring the correct images in the minds of the pharmacists.
Comments
Vessel Name: Alex II
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter Passge 42
Hailing Port: Auckland, New Zealand - Aotearoa
Crew: Kevan Draper
About: Preparation for Puddle Jump in 2013/14 . Plan is to take yacht through the Pacific to Australia after crusing the Gulf of California/Sea of Cortez/ Central America/ then jump from Panama to the Galipagos, Tahiti on westward
Extra: Crew positions available.

Alex II

Who: Kevan Draper
Port: Auckland, New Zealand - Aotearoa
Aotearoa - The land of the long white cloud
To new days, new challenges, new friends and reaching dry land