AKA Alias

Vessel Name: Alias
Vessel Make/Model: Hylas 47
Hailing Port: Healdsburg
About: John, LaShandra, Keturah, John jr.
03 November 2009 | Turtle Bay
02 November 2009 | Turtle Bay
02 November 2009 | Mexico
16 October 2009 | Two Harbors
06 October 2009 | Morro Bay
06 October 2009 | Morro Bay
01 October 2009 | Monterey
28 September 2009 | Sausalito
26 September 2009 | Vallejo
23 September 2009 | Home
05 September 2008 | Napa Valley Marina
21 August 2008 | Decker Island
26 July 2008 | Healdsburg
04 July 2008 | Golden Gate
Recent Blog Posts
03 November 2009 | Turtle Bay

Post by Keturah

Probably the very best thing that has happened to me on this trip has been meeting other kids. The first kid that we met was eleven year old Foster. The first time that I saw him was at the 2009 Baja HaHa Cruisers Rally in Alameda, California, but I think that I didn't even say hello to him. The first [...]

02 November 2009 | Turtle Bay

post by Johnny

The first best thing that happened in Mexico was when we were on our way from Ensenada to San Quintin. I came up the stairs and saw my mom and dad looking into the water so I got a lifejacket and I met my dad halfway. Then a few seconds later, my dad was holding the boat and me and I was leaning over [...]

02 November 2009 | Mexico

In Turtle Bay

So much has happened since our last post. We sailed from Catalina to Mission Bay, San Diego and spent four days there. We rented a car and ran errands. Then we left Mission Bay for Ensenada where we checked into Mexico and spent one day there. We left Ensenada at around seven pm the same day the Baja HaHa left San Diego, and we anchored the next night with the majority of the fleet at Bahia San Quintin to wait out the strong wind and waves. Another boat, Stepping Stone, gave us a skipjack tuna, because they caught too many fish, so we went over to Black Dragon, and had dinner with them. We left the next morning with the majority of the fleet, and soon ran into heavy seas and high wind. It wasnt fun. we made the mistake of towing the dinghy, and we were very lucky not to have lost it. Instead of continuing on, we went to land and anchored at Bahia San Carlos for the night. In the morning, we went ashore to get on dry land and walk around. Unfortunately, I flipped the dinghy in the surf, and we all got soaked. Fortunately, everyone thought it was funny and laughed it off. The next day we sailed through the night and arrived at Turtle Bay where the majority of the fleet were anchored. They left two days ago, and we are just relaxing here, leaving today or tomorrow.

16 October 2009 | Two Harbors

Catalina Island

We are in lovely Two Harbors, Catalina Island. After leaving Morro Bay, we rounded the dreaded Point Conception and spent the night anchored at Cojo Anchorage. The next morning, we sailed to Santa Barbara where we spent a few days. As we were pulling into the harbor, Steve and Foster who we had met in Monterey were motoring out to their boat which was anchored outside the marina. Steve helped us temporarily patch our mainsail which had ripped the first day of our trip. There was a big storm forecast with winds from the south, which would have left us exposed, so we sailed out to Santa Cruz island, where we spent a couple of days in China Cove, waiting out the storm. Then we went to Little Scorpion anchorage where we spent a day. Then yesterday, we sailed to Catalina island, where we are currently moored (Catalina Harbor). The weather is lovely. The water is clear, but chilly. We are having a good time.

06 October 2009 | Morro Bay

the beach

Kiki and I kayaked to a small island right across the channel and went onto the beach and when we stepped onto the sand we sunk about 4 inches.

06 October 2009 | Morro Bay

Morro Bay

We left Monterey last night and arrived at Morro Bay shortly after dawn. Keturah woke up and ran up into the cockpit when I yelled, "come look at the whale". But I was the only one to see the first dolphins. I can hardly wait for warm weather, it was FREEZING last night! Johnny asked, "Is Morro Bay the place that you said it would be warmer after we passed it?" Unfortunately, no, that's Point Conception, which we should pass in a day or two. Keturah and Johnny are playing on a beach that they kayaked over to. We can see them from here, but it's a long way.

Post by Keturah

03 November 2009 | Turtle Bay
Keturah
Probably the very best thing that has happened to me on this trip has been meeting other kids. The first kid that we met was eleven year old Foster. The first time that I saw him was at the 2009 Baja HaHa Cruisers Rally in Alameda, California, but I think that I didn't even say hello to him. The first time that I really honestly met him was in Monterey. We went to his boat, his family came to our boat, and we all played on the beach. We saw him again in Santa Barbara. We hung out with them for a little while, and Johnny went to their boat, the "Black Dragon". Then later, in Avalon on Catalina Island, my dad and my little brother saw them on their boat.
When we were at Two Harbors on Catalina Island, I met thirteen year old Shelby and her twelve year old sister, Bailey. When we were in Santa Barbara, I met thirteen year old Gigi.

The second best thing that happened to my family on this trip (in my opinion) was when we flipped the dinghy over.
We had been sailing ALL day, and mommy and I had been sick ALL day. (my editor told me to be descriptive with sights, sounds, smells, tastes, and feels, but who wants to know THOSE little details?) When we finally pulled over (figuratively speaking) it was in Bahia San Carlos, or Saint Charles Bay. Everyone was pooped, but not me, I had just gotten my second wind, but soon enough, I fell asleep.
The next day I felt sick again (I think I put too much azucar, or sugar, in my oatmeal) Mommy felt sick too. Daddy said, "The best cure for seasickness is to sit under an arbor de manzanas, or an apple tree, or in our case, a cactus might work." Johnny and I didn't get it, so daddy explained, "You have to be on land." Oh, Duh.
Daddy was anxious to be on land so he rushed us, we didn't even have time to rinse our oatmeal bowls, which, believe me, was a dolor in the neck later. We all loaded into the "family van" AKA the dinghy.
With the steering wheel in his hands, my dad becomes an absolute maniac, and the same thing happens in the dinghy. He was driving VERY fast, but not TOO fast towards the village. The village was a small little community made up of about twenty "houses". About forty feet away, I saw a seal head pop up in the water. About thirty yards away from the playa, or beach, we slowed down. I was not worried at all. I was not worried about getting wet. Daddy said he would carry me and mommy to dry ground. I wasn't worried about my feet hurting, I had good hiking shoes on. I wasn't worried about being cold, I had on a very warm sweater. I was not worried at all. All of a sudden we were surfing a huge mongo wave, and water was crashing all around us. Mommy and I were in the front and were leaning way forward. I worried that it was going to be deep, but Johnny and I had on lifejackets. I worried that it would be too shallow, we would get hurt. I worried Johnny would get pinned under the boat. Then I was in the water standing up. We were fine. "Stay away from the propeller!", Daddy screamed. I did. We were cold and wet and laughing.

The third best thing was today. Today was a wonderful day. Got up for the sunrise, sat around and read. From some pangeros (fishermen) we got six lobsters for a hat, three Pepsis, and a box of Reese's Pieces. We caught a three pound yellowtail tuna, daddy threw it back. He said it was too small and we would catch bigger ones. We didn't, oh well. We saw some dolphins a couple of minutes ago. Blue skies and plenty of wind, a perfect day.
Comments

About & Links