Almost Paradise

26 December 2014
19 December 2014
15 December 2014
15 December 2014
08 December 2014
01 December 2014
13 November 2014
13 November 2014
11 November 2014
05 November 2014
05 November 2014
15 August 2014
12 August 2014
12 August 2014 | Wilson, NC
07 August 2014
07 August 2014
07 August 2014
05 August 2014

Engine repair

13 November 2014
Thanks go out to Mark Wynne who took on the daunting task of being a big man used to working on trucks who crawled up and in my boat and somehow got his big hands around every small nook and cranny to do the work. My first issue was my heat exchanger. Sailing out to Cape Lookout last June a storm came through and unable to point into the bight I attempted to motor into the wind. The back plate of the heat exchanger had corroded to the point of popping off leaving me engineless. I taped it back on and it would run for a few minutes before leaking again. After limping in under tow for the last few hundred yards back to my mooring I removed the exchanger to bring it home for repair. That is also the reason that on the night before the hurricane I didn't motor over to the Beaufort Docks to tie up for the night. I didn't want to damage the engine but as it turned out running for a few minutes probably wouldn't have caused any damage anyway. My buddy, Tom Watson rebuilt the exchanger and made a new bracket, now I had to get it back on. Volvo didn't make it easy for us. All the cooling tubes around the engine have special "O" rings that have to be sealed in place to prevent any leaks. Being priced by Volvo made Mark have someone make some for him. After several attempts, lots of grunting and bleeding he finally got the heat exchanger back on and leak free. I had also decided to replace my starter and alternator, both have been rebuilt and had a lot of corrosion so we got those done too. Unfortunately all my gauges were cracked so badly you couldn't read them and one wasn't working so Mark replaced them also. Nothing went smoothly with any of these items but we can see the light at the end of the tunnel.
Comments
Vessel Name: Almost Paradise
Vessel Make/Model: 1976 Cal 2-29
Hailing Port: Beaufort, NC

Port: Beaufort, NC