17 May 2014
16 August 2012
14 August 2012 | HOME
28 July 2012
17 July 2012 | Ocracoke, NC
03 July 2012 | Beaufort, NC
13 June 2012 | Fernandina Beach, Florida
27 May 2012 | Man-O-War Cay, Abacos
20 May 2012 | Marsh Harbour, Abaco
28 April 2012 | George Town, Exuma
10 April 2012 | Black Point, Exumas
31 March 2012 | George Town, Exuma
28 February 2012 | Jumentos Cays & Ragged Islands
13 February 2012 | Long Island, Bahamas
12 February 2012 | The Marina at Emerald Bay, Exumasb
26 January 2012 | Exumas, Bahamas
17 January 2012 | Bahamas!
14 January 2012 | Warderick Wells, Bahamas

Small Battles Win the War

26 June 2009 | Deltaville, VA
by Jen
...or so they say! Yesterday, Maxwell and I decided to concentrate on Anastasia's pantry. The previous owner used this converted hanging locker as storage of all things oily, greasy, lubricating etc. Good or us, he left all of it's contents on board so we have lots of things to spray on things and squirt in places that need squirting. It really is a great place for all of that stuff however I need more galley storage. I have BIG plans!

Once we removed everything we found the locker to be quite nasty. However, after a meeting with my bucket of magic cleaning solution it looked much, much better! And no residual odor either! Major Victory!

Once clean and dry I lined each shelf with nonskid liner. We brought over the last of the contents from our pantry at the house and filled her up! Of course, when we leave, our provisioning will be carefully planned and stores will overflow into other areas than the pantry. However, this will be the main "go to" spot for most everything used regularly.







Now I LOVE to cook! And I have made it my personal mission to transition to a Galley Goddess seamlessly. And every Galley Goddess needs a decent pantry.(so say I) For research on this, I have bought a lot of books, maybe too many.(so say my Husband) But I am INSPIRED to make this a great space that great food comes out of! Just because my kitchen is now a galley and there is water beneath my feet doesn't change much in my mind.

We both have great expectations for this trip as a whole. And we are glad to be able to share the before thoughts with all of you! Stay tuned for the the afters!! We will see how accurate our expectations really are!
Comments
Vessel Name: Anastasia
Vessel Make/Model: 1982 Baba Ta Shing 35' (Flying Dutchman Hull #51)
Hailing Port: Gloucester, VA
Crew: Maxwell & Jen
Social:

Team Anastasia

Who: Maxwell & Jen
Port: Gloucester, VA
Sailing Anastasia

Promote Your Page Too
Submit your blog