Bacon Good, Work Bad

Follow the adventures of Bacon and James as they travel the Great Lakes, Intracoastal Waterway, Florida, and the Bahamas. Stay in touch, follow along, or join me aboard!

About Me...

Who: James Burbidge
Port: Midland (Doral)
18 January 2011
18 January 2011 | Atlantis (Nassau)
02 January 2011 | Northwest Shoal
01 January 2011 | Bimini
30 December 2010 | Bimini
29 December 2010 | Bimini
28 December 2010 | Miami Beach
18 December 2010 | North Palm Beach
17 December 2010 | Peck Lake
16 December 2010 | Wabasso
15 December 2010 | Port Canaveral
13 December 2010 | Jacksonville
09 December 2010 | Jacksonville
06 December 2010 | Grande Dunes (Myrtle Beach)
05 December 2010 | St. James
04 December 2010 | Wrightsville Beach
03 December 2010 | Swansboro
01 December 2010 | Oriental
23 November 2010 | Oriental
22 November 2010 | Oriental

Nope, Crabs Don’t Like SPAM

22 November 2010 | Oriental
11 statute miles, 2 hours
So, no crabs in the crab trap this morning. I guess they don't like SPAM. At least that was the worst thing that happened today. Again, a short day. Oriental is where I'd originally hoped to be by yesterday, but was unable to reach due to the troubles the day before. Probably just as well. Better to arrive in town first thing in the morning rather than the evening. Everybody who is leaving has left, and tonight's crowd hasn't yet arrived. Lots of room in the harbour. And in Oriental, that is significant. This place is boat crazy. On par with Annapolis, but smaller. I stopped in at the fuel dock to top up the diesel and to inquire about a good boatyard and had no trouble finding a multitude of people willing to give me advice. Right at the town dock there is a small cafe that caters almost exclusively to boaters and is always full of local and transient sailors. It didn't take long to get steered toward Sailcraft Service, a very well equipped yard just around the corner. These guys were very accommodating and jumped right to the task of assessing the damage. I always like doing business with people that show you that they appreciate your patronage. By the end of the day, they hadn't quite put the numbers together, but at least Bacon is in good hands and at a secure dock. Hopefully the repairs can be done quickly. As nice as Oriental is, I don't really want to spend a lot of time here. It seems that I keep getting stuck in every North Carolina town I go through. I guess it could be worse. I'm not really on a deadline, and I'm still keeping one step ahead of Old Man Winter. I've barely used my propane heater since Annapolis. I don't think it ever really gets that cold here. They have alligators. I'm pretty sure that they don't handle frost very well.

Number of days in row without a catastrophe: 2 (new high score)
Comments
Vessel Name: Bacon (nee Rapture)
Vessel Make/Model: CS 36 Traditional
Hailing Port: Midland (Doral)
Crew: James Burbidge
About:
I have sailed most of my life, although primarily on small boats on small lakes. For two decades now, I have aspired to get a "real" sailboat and use it to explore the planet by sea. This journey is a step toward that end. [...]

About Me...

Who: James Burbidge
Port: Midland (Doral)