JUNESSA IS WAITING PATIENTLY...

WORK TO LIVE! DON'T LIVE TO WORK!!!!!

17 February 2015 | San Juans
28 September 2014
28 September 2014
28 September 2014
27 September 2014
27 September 2014
26 September 2014
26 September 2014
25 September 2014 | Neah Bay
24 September 2014 | Neah Bay
23 September 2014 | Neah Bay
21 September 2014 | Neah Bay
21 September 2014 | Puget Sound, Washington
20 September 2014 | puget Sound, Washington
19 September 2014 | Puget Sound, Washington
09 September 2014 | Home
29 August 2014 | San Juans
17 August 2014 | San Juans
16 August 2014 | San Juans
15 August 2014 | SAN JUAN IS., WA, USA

Replacing Roller Furling Wire!

06 July 2008 | GiG HARBOR, WASHINGTON
This is Cliff the Rigger. He runs the West Marine Rigging Shop in Seattle and is down helping me finish up the standing rigging (all the cables that hold up the mast). Originally he came down to take measurements then make up all the cable in his shop. I then picked up the new cables and installed one by one by my lonesome! Up the mast, back down the mast, up the mast, well you get the picture! I was POOPED by the end of that day!

Cliff is smiling now, but neither of us were smiling about 1/2 hour later. I think the sailing gods are having fun at my expense! It turned out to be an allllllll day job to replace the two roller furler cables and tune the rig... and I'm still attached to the dock! What gives????

Here's to the sailing gods!


Comments
Vessel Name: JUNESSA
Vessel Make/Model: 28' Bristol Channel Cutter (BCC)
Hailing Port: Anchorage, Alaska
Crew: Rick Peterson
About: JUNESSA has a few new crew members! My lovely wife, Terri, who is eager to go cruising as a family! Taylor, our teenager, and Jenna our youngest and Pixie the wonder dog.
Extra:
This is my very first boat!!!! Nothing like starting out with the best Blue Water Cruiser money can buy! The BCC was designed by Lyle Hess and made famous by Lin & Larry Pardey as they documented in books, videos and dvd's their sailing adventures on board their homebuilt BCC 'Taleisin'. My [...]
JUNESSA's Photos - (Main)
Working and Playing on the Big Island of Hawaii ALOHA!
24 Photos
Created 20 January 2009
Working on bottom and interior.
9 Photos
Created 9 January 2009
4 Photos
Created 12 April 2007
Here's a few shots of prepping the boat for the long ride NORTH to Gig Harbor, Wa. It took about 5 hours to prep and load her up.
5 Photos
Created 8 April 2007
Here's a few shots of my 1985 28 foot Bristol Channel Cutter (BCC) built in Vancouver, BC. She's a full keel fiberglass hull with teak and mahogany wood throughout. She's powered by a Volvo 28hp diesel.
4 Photos
Created 7 April 2007
I had a great day learning how to sail my BCC. The learning curve was a little steeper than I had anticipated. The day ended pretty crappy... I couldn't get the engine out of gear and I plowed into the back side of a large powerboat in the slip next to me. OUCH!
6 Photos
Created 7 April 2007
This was the first day on board Junessa. I looked in every corner on board and climbed to the top of the mast! I had Chinese food and Corona Beer then feel asleep to some beautiful candle light and music.
4 Photos
Created 4 April 2007
website counter