Ed's Sailing Adventure

06 November 2011 | still at the boatyard
06 November 2011
06 November 2011 | Beaufort, NC

Missed the target date

06 November 2011 | Beaufort, NC
Today is the 23rd and the original target date but obviously are not making it. I am still "on the hard" (out of the water) at Bock Marine in Beaufort, NC. I climb up and down a 10 foot ladder many times every day. The nights are cold here now and the days quite comfortable after the rain stopped a couple days ago. There are about 15 boats here with full time liveaboards doing much as I are doing. Some have been here for years!!

I have ordered new LED lights and a new 12v fridge/freezer, both should arrive next week. The outdrive is off and being serviced. I still need to replace the headstay ( long wire holding up the mast) and install the new (used) roller furler. I also need to find a good used roller furler sail. Everything on the starboard (right) side has been removed, cleaned and painted and now being restowed.

The port (left) side is a more complex issue. I cut out a rotten bulkhead and epoxied in a new one. I also build a new shelf where a new set of drawers will go in the "head" (bathroom). This will get cleaned and painted tomorrow. Then will move aft (toward the rear) and finish the interior.

Today I got Barry from Flutterby to help lift the rigid bimini up and we test fit it and measured for the new supports to be made. You can see it just behind the boat in the first picture. Also note all the other stuff out on the back deck!! We decided to increase the radii in the corners. I bought some thin wood tonight and will get Phil on Oryoki to help me plane it thinner so it can bend and then epoxy it together.
When do I leave? I am trying to get to Florida by November 11th so am working hard every day to be able to "splash" back into the water.
Comments
Vessel Name: Beach Castle