The Chronicles of BEAR with Gary & Roslyn Cramer

13 July 2012 | Ft. Lauderdale FL USA
16 June 2012 | Ft. Lauderdale FL USA
02 June 2012 | Ft. Lauderdale FL USA
02 June 2012 | ft. Lauderdale FL USA
02 June 2012 | Ft. Lauderdale FL USA
02 June 2012 | F Lauderdale FL
02 June 2012 | F Lauderdale FL
02 June 2012 | F Lauderdale FL
30 May 2012 | F Lauderdale FL
24 May 2012 | Ft. Lauderdale FL USA
04 September 2011 | Ft. Lauderdale FL USA
24 July 2011
16 July 2011 | Fort Lauderdale FL USA
05 July 2011
05 July 2011
05 July 2011 | Fort Lauderdale FL USA
04 July 2011 | Fort Lauderdale FL USA
03 July 2011 | Ft. Lauderdale FL USA
02 July 2011 | Fort Lauderdale FL USA

Closing and Our First Night Aboard

03 July 2011 | Ft. Lauderdale FL USA
Gary Cramer
The closing was anticlimactic in that I looked over the boat, sent an email to the closing company, ASAP Marine Documentation & Registration Inc. and the boat was mine. I hired a captain to get us off of the sales dock and up to Lauderdale Marine Center, way up the New River.It's a nice marina with big floating docks that can take catamarans and it is a part of the boat yard that has the tradesmen that I needed to work on the boat. The captain, Bruce Mac Bain, tied us to the dock, waived and went away. We were alone.
Bringing both cars, we trucked a fare amount of stuff to Ft. Lauderdale. Moving it all on board was a task that Roz took on. For years, as I dreamed of my return to the sea on a new boat, the vision that went through my mind was the moment that I threw my duffle bag onto the deck of my new boat. Now, as we loaded our stuff aboard, I was working the on board part of the process while Roz worked the dock side end. My duffle came aboard with Roz pushing it from below and me pulling from above. It was heavy and nothing at all how I had imagined it. It was another anticlimactic event and I noted that I need to slow down and appreciate my moments more sensitively.
I wrote our kids;
We have most of our stuff on board and it is strewn everywhere.  The pump out laws have changed and are now very strict.  We have to use the shore facilities for waste.   This demands a discipline because the facilities are a short walk away.
We haven't found the sump pump yet so mom showered on shore. This is a nicer marina than Pier 66 was 30 years ago and the facilities here are pristine.  
We are now trying to make tea but haven't got that quite figured out yet.  The galley cupboard doors have gone into a locked up position and we can't figure out how to unlock them to get the doors closed.  The pots and pans are aluminum so our induction plate won't heat them and we haven't figured out how to use the propane stove.  We have a microwave but don't have anything to boil water in.  I feel helpless.
I got the VHF to work but can't find the weather channel.  I got the ship's stereo to work but  don't know how to play my tunes.  There is an auxiliary jack, I think, but it looks like the same jack that you plug your earphones into on the top of an iPod.
Yesterday it was real hot and Duffy and I stayed on board while Mom went to get some food for us to eat.    I got the AC to work but it wasn't getting all that cool.  I fiddled with the control and accidentally put it on heat.  Boy it got hot in here quick; Duffy's tongue rolled out of his mouth like a red carpet.
We are in basic survival mode; we need to make fire and eat.  I can't find the quick disconnect for the hose to get water aboard; thank goodness there is beer.  
Today is a shopping day; we need more bedding and some plates to replace our paper ones.  We need cutlery and all of the stuff that lives in your kitchen junk drawer.  We need a system for dirty laundry.  Mom glowed when she discovered the washer dryer but we have no water.
I got my router working so we have internet.  There is a lot of windows in the main salon and the sun has come up.  It'll get warm soon.  Mom just found in the supplies she brought with us two bear-shaped glass jars; the kind that comes filled with honey and we're boiling water for tea.  Survivor man and woman, we are.
Comments
Vessel Name: BEAR
Social: