s/v Between da Sheets

29 August 2016 | Puerto Vallarta
22 February 2016 | Mazatlan
09 September 2015 | La Paz
06 August 2015 | Sea of Cortez
13 March 2015 | Isla Espiritu Santos
06 March 2015 | Todo Santos
22 February 2015 | La Paz
12 November 2014 | La Paz
07 November 2014 | Cabo San Lucas
04 November 2014 | Bahia Santa Maria
30 October 2014 | Baja Cal Sur, Mexico
27 October 2014 | San diego
01 October 2014 | San Diego
26 September 2014 | San Francisco
10 September 2014 | Neah Bay
16 August 2014 | Neah Bay
16 March 2014 | Seattle
11 December 2013 | Seattle

Bay Area

26 September 2014 | San Francisco
Rick/Sunny
This is where things get really interesting as much work was done to make the charging system bullet proof but for the inaptness of the one eyed bandito. One is forced to recall his boat is a scow from by gone years and all systems are ancient. Truth be told my sleepless nights in Seattle began when he reached Neah Bay again and began to complain he didn't understand why the batteries were going low. Hmmm. Shall we review the system for a moment? Rhetorically I know but there is a 850 amp house bank aboard, a wind generator, 1150 watts of solar and a new electron contraption with control device to match; all monitored by a Magnum remote in the salon. Yep sure enough that would prove to be way too much technology for this pirate. Let me tell ya no multitude phone calls would prove sufficient to belay his complaints for such distances; nor with the help of a very capable electrician were we able to provide support to bolster numb nuts comprehension. This all lead to great frustration for all parties involved and an eventual shall we say surcharge! I get an call one day with him going nuttso saying he had to have another ~$2500 deposited immediately in his bank account as he had spent an equal fee on fuel from Seattle to Moro Bay! Mistake #2, I should have done the basic math but he had my precious. No Way could he have spent that much on fuel as the boat only has a 50 hp diesel! Oh but wait it gets worse from here. After the deposit I can't get hold of him on the phone, email, or text; it's not until I get a call from a marina that I know just where precious is. Ok so I'm headed to the airport to retrieve what is mine in a trashy marina where he has dumped it and split crew and all. Upon arriving I discover precious had been turned into a party boat and the liquor locker had been looted. The stereo was set to full bore and the place was a mess in this stinky marina in Berkley. When I try to get hold of low life he says leave him alone he needs some space to catch up with long lost relatives never to be seen or heard from again! So here I am stuck, never having been off shore and needing to get to San Diego for the Baja HA HA rally. First I move the boat to a marina more befitting here stature and begin to do the passage planning thing, scared and insecure I forge ahead. Still no of word of captain Bly and frankly wanting to rid society of the scourge we set out. Somewhere between here and Santa Barbara word come from this son of satin and I declare I'm too busy and need some space. Well he goes absolutely berserk and threatens me both bodily and verbally and in print which of course I saved after reading him the riot act! I tell him I will deal with the situation when I have more time; probably in San Diego. You may have guessed I never get my money back that I discovered he defrauded me of after having done some basic math (a skill he sorely lacks) with the receipts he left. Seems I not only with the deposit paid for multiple dinners for his crew but plane tickets as well; something I never agreed to!
Oh did I forget to mention we hit some nasty weather around Pt. Conception with 35kt winds and big seas? Very uncomfortable so we pulled into Santa Barbara for a couple days of R&R and we had no difficulties with any system on the boat.
Comments
Vessel Name: Between da Sheets
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau 42s7
Hailing Port: Seattle WA
Crew: Sharon Seeber
About:
Rick and Sharon met in 1966, married two years later and have been in love ever since. Much later they moved to Seattle WA in 1998. Rick has always been interested in boating & fishing with the first boat a Sixteen foot Livingston and two subsequent boats a 20' cuddy cabin and a Bayliner 30'. [...]
Extra: This is the story of our love, tears, sweat, frustrations and bruises on the path to this adventure as we become "sociological drop outs". We invite you to join us along the way and share in the adventure. We welcome your comments.
Between da Sheets's Photos - Main
Another cooking session at Olivias' house to prepare Emenadas.
5 Photos
Created 23 March 2015
Puerto Ballena three lobe bay
6 Photos
Created 16 March 2015
Anchorage
11 Photos
Created 16 March 2015
Day trip to Todo Santos 5/6/15
6 Photos
Created 16 March 2015
San Diego to Cabo
5 Photos
Created 17 November 2014
Going from Seattle to San Diego
6 Photos
Created 17 November 2014
Day on the water front with Sharon
17 Photos
Created 17 August 2013
8/2013 First time on the Hard
6 Photos
Created 17 August 2013
Pics of our house
15 Photos
Created 6 June 2013