Blowinganddrifting with Admiral Chrissy and Capt. Dean

We are Mariners, heart and soul, but there is much more to us than that :)

21 December 2012 | Downtown Petoskey Michigan
06 September 2012 | Boyne City Michigan
09 August 2012
14 June 2012
14 June 2012
31 May 2012 | Petoskey Michigan
29 May 2012
21 May 2012
14 May 2012
07 May 2012 | above the 45th.
06 May 2012
06 May 2012
06 May 2012
16 April 2012

Chrissy and Mom got to see it !!

12 January 2012
Capt. Dean 50 on Jan. 10th.
I took Chrissy and Mom to see the boat a couple days ago and they loved it !!! We loaded up the van, Chrissy, Mom, Mark, Vi, and Christopher, oh yeah and the extension ladder :) and we were off. It was a beautiful 50 degree day, Jan. 10th. if you could believe it. Mom had no trouble getting up the ladder and into the boat, I think she was kind of determined !! :) Chrissy was sooo happy, I haven't seen her like that in awhile, she said it didn't look like the cruiz ship that it did in the video.

We all went up and in, mingled around and looked a little closer at everything. I pulled up floor and wall panels where I could and looked at the hull with a flashlight, gladly nothing jumped out at me, no rot or mold or nasty looking areas. I spritzed up the place some just by putting stuff in drawers and closets that were laying around, cushions, canvas and such. I laid down in the V birth and found alot of room in those bunks.

We came to the conclusion that a bucket of soapy water and some Fantastic will have her looking her old self again in no time. We have no intentions of dumping alot of money into her in a hurry, we will concentrate on what is there, do some research on her, then decide if we want to "remodel" or "restore" her. You all know how I am.......cheap or free..and we have the time and the people in the right places to search and find boat surplus stuff or new if warranted.

I have been on the web looking for Owens Yachts history, I have found some info, but at this point I don't think there are many 63's out there, or at least not on the internet. I think I will join the Owens owners club, for 35 bucks I will see what happens.

More to follow, so just keep checking in.



Capt. Dean

ps. oh yeah, I had this idea to stir up the community this spring.......the big wood boat will be parked on one side of the house, with a sign that says "hers" on it...... on the other side of the house will be Rubaiyat parked with a sign that says "his".......then a sign on the house.." For Sale" ....................:) :) that should get em talking :)

Comments
Vessel Name: Rubaiyat
Vessel Make/Model: 1985 Catalina 30TR (tall rig)
Hailing Port: Little Traverse Bay Petoskey Michigan
Crew: Dean Chrissy and Stella Bachelor
About: We have had a successfull trip from Petoskey to Florida in our 30' sailboat. We have just purchased a 40' motor yacht, and a classic too. Stay tuned to see how things go from here:)
Extra: you can follow and see all my videos on my you tube channel: blowinganddrifting please feel free to subscribe

blowinganddrifting with Admiral Chrissy and Capt. Dean

Who: Dean Chrissy and Stella Bachelor
Port: Little Traverse Bay Petoskey Michigan