Blowinganddrifting with Admiral Chrissy and Capt. Dean

We are Mariners, heart and soul, but there is much more to us than that :)

21 December 2012 | Downtown Petoskey Michigan
06 September 2012 | Boyne City Michigan
09 August 2012
14 June 2012
14 June 2012
31 May 2012 | Petoskey Michigan
29 May 2012
21 May 2012
14 May 2012
07 May 2012 | above the 45th.
06 May 2012
06 May 2012
06 May 2012
16 April 2012

I put a note in a bottle and threw it overboard

11 September 2012
Dean cool sept. breeze
This is just crazy, but what else would I expect :)

WOW! Now this is a great story! :)

I got an email the other day, the header said "I found your bottle".

I thought, what? Although those who know me, do know I have thrown bottles overboard with a note in them before. I opened the mail and this is what it said:

9/10/2012
Hi
I'm from Portugal, Caldas da Rainha, and last week I went to the island of Azores, Sao Miguel to a little vacations.
I found your bottle in Mosteiros, a seacoast village.

Cynthia Surgy
--------------------------------------------------------

That just floored me!!! Should I believe her? I must, because she had my email, and I always put it on the notes. I google earthed the azores and about freaked out! Wow !

So I replied back:
WOW ! Are you serious?? If it is the one I am thinking of, I tossed it overboard off the coast of New York City in Oct. of 2010. If possible could you take a picture of the bottle and the note, so I know it is not a hoax, I guess it's not because you got my email.

More details please, Thanks Dean

ps. I think I have a You Tube of me tossing it overboard, I will look for it.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well I didn't take a video of it getting tossed overboard, and I later realized that it was actually tossed over, out off Atlantic City on our offshore run to Cape MayNJ. I got to thinking back, we were weathered in at AC for 5 days due to wind. We made the dash out of there, got to Cape May and the wind blew for another few days, so, we left with the hi-outgoing tide, and with the wind, it just shot out offshore and kept going!
I was soooo anxious to hear back from her, my mind was just racing!

A few hours later I got this email:

Yes, I have pictures and I just put the note on my scan.
I was just looking from some natural pool, of sea in Mosteiros and in a little space where some wood and garbage were, I saw a bottle and I said to my mother: look, a bottle, It would be so cool if it had a message, just like in movies.She just made a joke and when I looked better I saw that the bottle really had a note :)
Really, a youtube? I would like to see that.

Sorry for my english, Cynthia

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

These are the photos she sent, ( had to put them in the photo gallery) you really gotta love the smart phones with cameras nowdays!! What luck that I get photos of the mariner itself, being rescued from the sea a year and 11 months after being cast away!!

A few years ago I tossed one overboard when we were under the Mackinaw Bridge (Michigan) and it was found about a month later, only 17 miles south east of the bridge, but it was still cool to hear from the people.
While on our trip of a liftime, I also tossed one over in the middle of Lake Huron and Lake Erie, with no response yet.

I don't know where this will go from hear, but I think it tops off our voyage in the best of ways!!!
Good Karma !!!



Comments
Vessel Name: Rubaiyat
Vessel Make/Model: 1985 Catalina 30TR (tall rig)
Hailing Port: Little Traverse Bay Petoskey Michigan
Crew: Dean Chrissy and Stella Bachelor
About: We have had a successfull trip from Petoskey to Florida in our 30' sailboat. We have just purchased a 40' motor yacht, and a classic too. Stay tuned to see how things go from here:)
Extra: you can follow and see all my videos on my you tube channel: blowinganddrifting please feel free to subscribe

blowinganddrifting with Admiral Chrissy and Capt. Dean

Who: Dean Chrissy and Stella Bachelor
Port: Little Traverse Bay Petoskey Michigan