The Adventures of Blue Pearl

12 March 2010 | Ft. Pierce
06 March 2010 | Ft. Pierce
06 March 2010 | Ft. Pierce, FL

Back from Freeport....again.

12 March 2010 | Ft. Pierce
Bill / it's raining here now - nonstop 24hrs.
I'm back from taking the Stealaway over to Freeport, Bahamas. The trip went very well, unlike my trip over in my boat a week ago. In fact, the weather was so nice we changed our plans from making a two day trip crossing the stream we decided to do it in one....again. Just like I did last week. Only this time.....no gales, thank God. I don't ever want to go thru the unexpected gale experience again, especially with an inexperienced crew. It's so different sailing with someone who knows boats and knows what they are doing. I don't like finding out in the middle of a gale that your crew who is supposed to know boats, because they own a 40 footer and have been sailing it for several years, can't coil a rope or tie a bowline. (see photo: this is how my crew coils and stows a halyard)

I'm just getting back and as soon as I get things organized here I'll try to explain in detail how we, meaning myself, Hatsuko and Bluepearl ended up here as we are now and hopefully our cruising plans for the near future.

Bill
Comments
Vessel Name: Blue Pearl
Vessel Make/Model: Bruce Roberts 45 Custom
Hailing Port: Atlanta, GA
Crew: Bill & Hatsuko Coulter
About:
Hatsuko and I met and married 40 years ago in Okinawa, Japan, while stationed there in the Marine Corps. After retiring from the USMC '98 and then starting and running a landscape business in Atlanta, GA, for 10 years, we decided to give it all up.... [...]

Profile for Blue Pearl

Who: Bill & Hatsuko Coulter
Port: Atlanta, GA