Midlife Crisis Cure

19 August 2008
29 February 2008 | La Cruz
24 February 2008 | Barra de Navidad
01 February 2008 | Manzanillo
30 January 2008 | From Manzanillo
30 January 2008 | From Manzanillo
25 January 2008 | Barra de Navidad
25 January 2008 | Barra de Navidad
25 January 2008 | From Barra
25 January 2008 | Barra de Navidad
24 January 2008
01 January 2008
28 December 2007 | Mazatlan
28 December 2007
27 December 2007
27 December 2007 | From Mazatlan
22 December 2007
19 December 2007
19 December 2007

Banderas Bay

25 January 2008 | Barra de Navidad
In early January I arrived in Banderas Bay. This bay is huge. 35 miles deep 37 miles wide at the West end all terminating at the ancient City of Puerto Vallarta ( PV in the cruising circles). It means bay of the flags and in the 1500's the Spanish defeated the Indians because something happened to a flag. What? I like history but cannot remember the story and I am sitting in this wonderful hotel at the pool and writing since I have a good connection and its free except for the beer I am buying and of course drinking. That will lead to dinner and more beer so it really will be cheaper to buy my own satellite and beam down internet. Any way the flag did something and the outmanned Spainards ( why cant I spell that word?) won the battle.

I rounded Pt Mita a very dangerous Point that has many offshore rocks that are just below the surface or the seas may break on them showing their position. Maybe the location of the 30 ft rock on the way to Chacala was in the correct position they had the height wrong. These rocks were real and dangerous. With much caution and FINALLY some wind I could use to sail I entered Banderas Bay and anchored behind the point. There is a 5 star hotel and development here. We are not welcome on their beaches. But there is a little town a some condos that welcome boaters. Alas, I was anxious for some solid sleep what with the attacks and rolly anchorages and headed to La Cruz to the newly opened Marina. Electricity, fresh water, showers, internet, oil change, wash the boat, clean the bilge. Not sure I thought this marina thing through. Sounds like more work than rest.

I was nervous coming to this marina because last time Pat and I were chased out of a new marina. I was encouraged when someone answere my call on the radio. Spoke english and assigned me a slip before I got in the breakwater. This is good. And it was. Expensive. Twice the rate I paid in Mazatlan plus they metered power and water. But it had to be done after all it was only $28 a day and that was cheaper than a hotel. A few days here would be doable. And it was.

Great! The little town of La Cruz is next to the marina and was kind of dirty. There appeared to be more dogs that people. They wandered in and out of restaurants and grocery stores. The dogs and the people. The people were very friendly, except in a little sports bar I ventured into. There were lots of Americans and the ubiqutous Canadian tourists mostly staying here 4 - 6 months at a stint.

Filos Bar served pizza, internet, ribs on Thursday and lots of music every night. This was the hot spot where you went to see and be seen. I saw and was also seen. It is owned by an American who was cruising and ended settling down, buying the bar and the rest is history. Like the flag thing I am a little fuzzy on the details but you get the point.

Le Reve, a French restaurant, that changes names every year or so is owned by a.. Frenchman who built his own catamaran in England in the late Sixties and sailed all over the Caribbean, through Panama, Honduras ( lived there during the Contra thing, think Col. Oliver North)and settled in La Cruz.
He spent lots of time with the Huichol Indians who live in the mountains behind PV. Some say he knows more about them than anyone. In his restaurant he sells some the bead art they are know for. Great stuff. Great story. Pat and I inquired about his boat which was on a mural, whereupon we were given several photo albums showing the building of the boat and the trip. At the end of the evening a very young looking man come to our table and introduced himself as the owner. It was a great conversation. A very interesting man with a great story.

But I was here to work on the boat. Which I did after a couple of nights out at Filos. I mean they had ribs and music and new people to meet. It is funny how we meet people. Pat is the type of guy who sits down and waits for folks to come to him. It is very effective. People who sit next to him already know that they are open to speak with him. They approached him and he has met some of the nicest boaters. I on the other hand mingle and meet people. When I talk to folks they may think I am a mass murderer. But people are friendly and mostly have had a few adult beverages so approaching them is okay. Maybe the mass murderers approached Pat but who is to say. He would be cool and chat away.

Well I have rambled for awhile here and will address the rest of Banderas Bay in another issue.
Know this however. I did change oil and clean the bilge and clean the boat. It is not all play and no work.
Comments
Vessel Name: Bold Lady
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 38
Hailing Port: Long Beach, Ca
Extra: Singlehanded sailor heading to Mexico Gold Coast then up to Sea for Spring and Summer

Mike Perez

Port: Long Beach, Ca