The Boriken

....and the process begins

30 April 2015 | Miramar, Florida
Bill Holderby
So after much seeking and many, many direction changes we are finally settled on and have initiated the process on purchasing a brand new 2014 Gemini Legacy 35 Catamaran. My wife (Marisol) and I have long wanted to get a boat of our own. Specifically we wanted a safe boat that can go places. Since we live in South Florida we have a wide variety of destinations offshore including the Keys (we love it down there) and also of course the lovely Bahamas loom large in our future.

We have contemplated all sorts of boats, I was always partial to the Cutwater 28, a walkaround cruiser (powered) and that was my preferred direction for quite a while but thoughts quickly go to overnighting, inviting family and friends, comfort, and also that the Cutwater only has a single motor and it started to put the Cutwater concept in a different light. I have long been a fan of the video and blog series that Seth Hynes did for the Honeymoon Lagoon 380 that they took halfway around the world. It really started to put the idea of a sailing yacht into our minds. So I started looking around at Lagoon 380's - I love the layout of those boats but it seems like the ones we toured (used) were a bit beaten down and the price and risk factor was a bit out of whack so the Lagoon dream (like the Cutwater) faded a bit. In visiting the Catamaran Company in Fort Lauderdale they introduced me to the Gemini (I was familiar with the 105mc) and the idea of NEW ownership. We love the idea of NEW, even with depreciation and we sat down and went over the stock 2014 (late model) options that were new. We learned that many MUST HAVE features were not included on the boat (Generator, AirConditioning) etc. They broke out the Retail price sheet for those items and when we added it up we came in well over what we felt comfortable in spending. I am writing this in April of 2015 so it came to our attention that they had a brand new "Hull 1188" Gemini 2014 model (so getting a bit long in the tooth for them to hold) and they expressed that they could get down to my top dollar price with all the goodies that I wanted, and would I be interested.

So after re-touring that Hull 1188 in detail this time we decided that this was the move for us and we placed a deposit for this "special deal" and we expect to close in the first week of June 2015 on this boat. So as I write this I am a rogue landlubber pretending to be "all that" however I can look any of you in the eye and say - "it is on its way!"....

The photo I am including in this post by the way is a stock photo of the Gemini 2014 Legacy 35 - with my mock up of the Boriken naming and saucy Taino image of a Coqui frog at the bow. That will be the look we are going to go for. Boriken by the way is the Taino name that they called Puerto Rico originally. I always found that name lovely and since my lovely wife is Puerto Rican I figured that name worked very well....and I always wanted to have a little Tivo-like logo as well....and that works.


Comments
Vessel Name: Boriken
Vessel Make/Model: 2014 Gemini Legacy 35
Hailing Port: Miramar, FL
Crew: Marisol

Who: Marisol
Port: Miramar, FL