Bravado Breeze

Sailing into the Sunset

26 October 2013
25 October 2013
14 October 2013
09 October 2013
07 October 2013
06 October 2013
05 October 2013
02 October 2013
02 October 2013
01 October 2013
30 September 2013
30 September 2013
24 September 2013
22 September 2013
21 September 2013
16 September 2013
14 September 2013
13 September 2013

Good Bye Charlie

17 April 2012
Part of the process of getting ready for our trip was to find a good home for my beloved Charlie. This would have to be one of the most painful things that I had to do in my life.

It had been 6 and half years ago that we got him from the pound, he was in a separate area to all the other dogs and I was advised by the pound lady that he wasnt for sale as he had not been temper tested. I asked her if I could at least hold him, he was so scrawny and trembling from fright, as I picked him he soon started to settle a little and put his little head on my shoulders. The lady was amazed at the transformation and told me that yes I could adopt him.

Took him home and he wanted to be constantly in my arms this was quite hard for me at first as it was like having a baby again and I was really out of practice! In no time Charlie made himself very comfortable and become a very loved member of our family. He became my shadow. would look at me with those big brown eyes and transmit so much love and affection that he had me wrapped around his little paw.

A few weeks ago I was given the contact details for "Paws" a dog re-homing organisation in Sydney, after talking to the lady she mentioned that her sister Kathy might be interested in fostering or adopting Charlie.

The drive to Sydney was awful, not only terribly long and hot but also because I was giving my baby away.

When Kathy came to pick him up , she had an engraved name tag for Charlie. I knew he was going to a good home, she had owned a couple of King Charles in the past and she was very aware of their loving nature.

As it turned out... Charlie didnt just go to a good home he went to a fantastic loving family who love him just as much as I do. I have been told that he is well and truly settle enjoying sleeping on lounges, beds. going on daily walks and watching the world go by from the front door.

As much as I miss him I couldnt had hoped for a better family. For this I will be forever grateful to Kathy and her family.

This experience proves that you can successfully re-home dogs (even older ones) and when the times comes that we are back on land I am pretty sure that I will be involved in some way in re-homing dogs.
Comments
Vessel Name: Bravado
Vessel Make/Model: Olympic 40
Hailing Port: Melbourne
Crew: Captain Steve & First Mate Ines
Extra: Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do then by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the Dream. Discover. -- Mark Twain -- Living the dream and sailing into the sunset
Home Page: www.sailblogs.com/member/directory_bravadobreeze/
Social:

Bravado's Crew

Who: Captain Steve & First Mate Ines
Port: Melbourne