Mark's Health Update

24 April 2015 | Providence Cancer Center - Portland Eastside
09 April 2015 | Providence Cancer Center - Portland Eastside
10 March 2015 | Providence Cancer Center - Portland Eastside
09 February 2015 | Providence Cancer Center - Portland Eastside
07 February 2015 | Providence Cancer Center - Portland Eastside
19 January 2015 | Providence Cancer Center - Portland Eastside
30 December 2014 | Providence Cancer Center - Portland Eastside
08 December 2014 | Providence Cancer Center - Portland Eastside
19 November 2014 | Providence Cancer Center - Portland Eastside
01 November 2014 | Providence Cancer Center - Portland Eastside
08 October 2014 | Providence Cancer Center - Portland Eastside
08 October 2014 | Providence Cancer Center - Portland Eastside
10 September 2014 | Providence Cancer Center - Portland Eastside
20 August 2014 | Providence Cancer Center - Portland Eastside
20 August 2014 | Providence Cancer Center - Portland Eastside
11 August 2014 | 'the Couve
31 July 2014 | Providence Cancer Center
10 July 2014 | Providence Cancer Center
10 July 2014 | the 'Couve
02 July 2014 | 'the Couve

Chemotherapy: 10 of 9

30 December 2014 | Providence Cancer Center - Portland Eastside
Mark / Sunny, and not too cold
Chemotherapy: 10 of 9 (Bonus 1 of 3)

Tuesday, 30 December was the date of my 10th Chemo infusion. And it's now Tuesday, 6 January, as I write this post - or a week later. At the moment, I'm feeling pretty near "Tip-Top".

In the most recent post, I stated that as long as the PSA tests remain promising, and that my body can withstand the harshness of the Chemotherapy, it would continue beyond the scheduled 9 infusions. Last time, the result was good: "25.45", a reduction of 13%. Thus we have Chemo #10, or "Bonus 1 of 3". Last week, again the test results were favorable, with a score of 16.95, a 33% reduction. And, I'm feeling pretty good. As, such, there will be another infusion, #11 or "Bonus 2 of 3", on the 19th of January.

Reflecting on the three weeks following the ninth infusion, I can thankfully say that I continue to handle it well, but it's negative impact is beginning to build a bit. More specifically, I'm experiencing more days of pain/discomfort than before. That said, during our two weeks in Mexico, Debbie and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary, my birthday, and Christmas. We were also treated to three days of racing in the Banderas Bay Blast, aboard the 63' catamaran, Profligate. Best of all, we got to reconnect with a large number of old friends, make some new friends, and enjoy time with Debbie's family. Cancer didn't interfere - None of that could have been better! So, what's all this talk about pain/discomfort? OK, here's the deal: Going back as far as Chemo #4, in August, I've been experiencing a painful side effect. With every infusion since then, I'd hurt for two days, two days after the treatment. The pain/discomfort would then lessen each of the next four or five days. I'd gotten used to it. And in fact, I had started to work it into my schedule. This is what I did before booking the Mexico flight. With Chemo on Monday, 8 Dec., I expected to be hit with side-effects on Wednesday & Thursday, then be pretty well pain free for the holidays. As expected, Wednesday & Thursday weren't pleasant. Friday, I was fine. Fair enough. But, then on Saturday and the following Wednesday, I had sufficient discomfort to take the days off. In addition, as the Chemo continues, everyday comes with greater, fatigue and shortness of breath, and a little more general discomfort.

Don't get me wrong! My increased discomfort with Chemo side-effects is a very small price to pay for all the good the Chemo is doing. As such, I'm looking forward to my next BONUS infusion, later this month. My life is good; I can't complain about that!
Comments
Vessel Name: Cancer Dancer
Vessel Make/Model: Prostate / Stage IV
Hailing Port: Vancouver, WA
Crew: Marco & Debbie
About: Debbie & I are taking it day by day. Life is Good!
Extra:
This blog is dedicated to the memory of my hero: George Pluchos. George & I met shortly after high school. Almost immediately we were “BFF”s four decades before the term existed. We spent our time in Portland, “laughing, joking, drinking, smoking”, as well as lots of gambling and [...]
Cancer Dancer's Photos - Main
PIx from our Columbia River based Santana 30-30 sailboat, "Yesterday's Girl"
7 Photos
Created 17 October 2014
Debbie & I were invited aboard Andy & Debra's brand new Outbound 46', "Lion's Paw" for mini-cruise to BC's Chatterbox Falls.
20 Photos
Created 21 September 2014
Good Hair, Bad Hair & No Hair
16 Photos
Created 11 March 2014
On 12 Dec 2013, Debbie & Mark exchanged wedding vows in San Diego County's historic Administration Building.
1 Photo | 4 Sub-Albums
Created 31 January 2014
Your Truly, Capitano Marco
3 Photos
Created 5 December 2013