Some good reasons you should never buy a boat

Troy & Lisa

Who: Captain Troy Roush & Admiral Lisa McCreery
Port: Van Buren, IN
25 November 2015 | Ft. Meyers
25 November 2015 | Cayo Costa National Park
15 December 2013 | Somewhere in the Florida Keys
12 December 2013 | Marathon
11 December 2013 | 2 miles off Indian Key
08 December 2013 | Stuart FL
07 December 2013 | Florida
06 December 2013 | New Smyrna Beach
23 November 2013 | Virginia
23 August 2013 | From Catskill, NY to Deltaville, VA
19 July 2013 | Started in Sandusky, Ohio & we have no real destination

A gentleman never goes to weather

08 December 2013 | Stuart FL
Troy
Spent yesterday making an uneventful run down the intercostal lots of dolphins and Lisa baked some cookies is the only thing of note. Pulled into the anchorage at Stewart, it was two hours before low tide and the waters were skinny to say the least. We anchored in 5' of water (cantankerous draws 4'10") checked the bottom with a docking pole and determined the bottom had 2' of soft mud, Cantankerous, could push through it if she had to. Both the depth sounder and sonar have been inaccurate since I've been Cantankerous's master and having a known depth it was as good of time as any to figure out how to calibrate both sonar and depth finder, so I did. Hopefully we will have accurate soundings now! The harbor at Stewart is packed to the brim with high end sport fishing vessels, and the anchorage had several unseaworthy boat's with people living on them. This isn't uncommon especially in southern Florida. Can you blame them? Living on a derelict boat in the harbor of tropical paradise would have to beat the hell out of being homeless! Anyhow I lowered the dink and we walked to a very authentic Mexican place for dinner, they all stopped and stared when the gringo's walked in... The only way the scene could have been any funnier is if the juke box blaring Mexican music in the corner would have stopped too. It was a good meal followed by shower's and "The bucket list" on Satellite and bed. We got up at Six this morning and got under weigh immediately, I wanted to clear out of the anchorage before low tide at 8. I decided to go outside today rather then pass under the 27 draw bridges between Stewart and Fort Lauderdale, our next stop. As soon as the instruments came online I noticed a freshening breeze out of the East! This was good news... Or so I though...We could sail! I should have though it through... The wind has been out of the south for a week now and the easterly shift would put us on a close hauled point of sail into a very disorganized steep sea with short period wavelengths. There is an old sailors adage that goes "a gentleman never goes to weather" If I ever got a tattoo that is what it would say, and I'd put it right on my forearm so I had to look at it every time I pulled a sail out!!! So here we are 2 miles off shore beating south to weather! Close hauled with all the sails out, the motor running beating into 20 knots of wind and waves struggling to make 5 knots. The sails alone have enough power in them to make haul speed (8 knots) but not beating into these sea's. If conditions persist I'm going to duck back inside at the West Palm inlet and deal with the damn bridges! At least then I can get Lisa to fix me some lunch!:)
Comments
Vessel Name: Cantankerous
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau 411
Hailing Port: Van Buren, IN
Crew: Captain Troy Roush & Admiral Lisa McCreery
About:
Never had a real job in my life & don't think I'd like one! I'm a farmer in Central Indiana where my family & I farm. We farm corn, soybeans, popcorn, certified organic, & processing tomatoes. I have two grown daughters, Krista (son n law Nick) & Kari. Lisa has been a hairdresser for 26 years. [...]
Extra:
We started out 2 years ago in a 32' Hunter Vision, SV: Mucho Gusto. Not much love loss with that vessel. Mast had been compromised in a hurricane & repaired with a 3 foot sleeve... So I was told. Lost mast in March 2012 with just the jib out. I was on my way back from the Dry Totugus with my [...]

Troy & Lisa

Who: Captain Troy Roush & Admiral Lisa McCreery
Port: Van Buren, IN