Some good reasons you should never buy a boat

Troy & Lisa

Who: Captain Troy Roush & Admiral Lisa McCreery
Port: Van Buren, IN
25 November 2015 | Ft. Meyers
25 November 2015 | Cayo Costa National Park
15 December 2013 | Somewhere in the Florida Keys
12 December 2013 | Marathon
11 December 2013 | 2 miles off Indian Key
08 December 2013 | Stuart FL
07 December 2013 | Florida
06 December 2013 | New Smyrna Beach
23 November 2013 | Virginia
23 August 2013 | From Catskill, NY to Deltaville, VA
19 July 2013 | Started in Sandusky, Ohio & we have no real destination

Another day waisted

12 December 2013 | Marathon
Troy
Made Marathon, rained all day and absolutely poured after I got here. Got signed in and dinked over to Castaways for sushi and happy hour, was pretty disappointed in the sushi... Oh well, met a couple young guys there that had sailed from Massachusetts, in a 25' boat, they left in September, the trip that took me two weeks took them three months. They went around Cape Hatteras on the outside in a 25' boat! Dinked back to the Marina where all the talk was the FWC, being a little heavy handed, boarding boats in the harbor late at night writing tickets for very questionable infractions... Apparently some young guy is on a power trip, trying to make rank. Walked over to Keys fishery for dinner, came back to the boat got a shower then sliced my finger wide open digging through the fridge for a snack... Apparently somebody had put a beer in the freezer and it shattered. It cut pretty deep! It's been twenty four hours and it's still a bloody mess. This morning my neighbor Mike, dinked over. He and his wife are from Evansville, they came down the Mississippi on a 26' sailboat 2 years ago, got here and realized it was too small, they now live on a 36' trawler. After Mike left I went to work on boat projects starting with putting together a power cord for the generator... Half way through Mike, dinked by and asked if I wanted to join him for a beer at the bar... Said sure as soon as I finish this cord I'll stop by. That was literally the end of me being productive today! Ran into the guys I meet a Castaways the previous night, they joined me and Mike, they are sailing for Key West, at first light and asked if I wanted to go... Sure... Why not... I've been in one place about as long as I can stand it... let's go! So tomorrow at first light I'm heading south again... So ends another day in the Keys, waisted away!
Comments
Vessel Name: Cantankerous
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau 411
Hailing Port: Van Buren, IN
Crew: Captain Troy Roush & Admiral Lisa McCreery
About:
Never had a real job in my life & don't think I'd like one! I'm a farmer in Central Indiana where my family & I farm. We farm corn, soybeans, popcorn, certified organic, & processing tomatoes. I have two grown daughters, Krista (son n law Nick) & Kari. Lisa has been a hairdresser for 26 years. [...]
Extra:
We started out 2 years ago in a 32' Hunter Vision, SV: Mucho Gusto. Not much love loss with that vessel. Mast had been compromised in a hurricane & repaired with a 3 foot sleeve... So I was told. Lost mast in March 2012 with just the jib out. I was on my way back from the Dry Totugus with my [...]

Troy & Lisa

Who: Captain Troy Roush & Admiral Lisa McCreery
Port: Van Buren, IN