Captiva Cruising

Sail away with our Lagoon 440 catamaran, "Captiva".

05 November 2016
07 July 2016 | my office
02 July 2016 | my office
02 July 2016 | my office
16 June 2016 | Constitution Marina
16 June 2016 | Constitution Marina
16 June 2016 | Constitution Marina
16 June 2016 | Constitution Marina
16 June 2016 | Constitution Marina
14 June 2016 | Constitution Marina
14 June 2016 | Constitution Marina
14 June 2016 | Constitution Marina
08 June 2016 | Constitution Marina
27 February 2016 | Constitution Marina

Post No. 3.2 - Who's Who on the Carrib 1500 Crew

16 June 2016 | Constitution Marina
Larissa Callahan
Chick
(Crew)

"My name is Carmine, but people who know me, call me Chick. It's a nick name that my folks gave me when I was just a child and it has stuck throughout the years. I've lived my entire life in the State of Connecticut and have always been fortunate enough to live near the sea which partially explains why the sea (and water, in general) is in my blood. Growing up, I spent my summers at our family's cottage on a lake. My wife, Sue, and I have been married for 34 years. We have two beautiful daughters; a fine son-in-law; and two sweet, full of life granddaughters (who also love the water and Block Island.☺)

I've worked at General Dynamics, Electric Boat Corporation for over 34 years. EB is the country's finest manufacturer of submarines for the U.S. Navy and I'm proud to be a part of it.

Michael, CAPTIVA's owner and skipper, and I have been the best of friends since high school. I've been sailing with Michael and his family for over 30 years. Most of the sailing has been in New England waters from Connecticut to Maine and numerous places in between, including Block Island, Cutty Hunk, Martha's Vineyard, Nantucket, Cape Cod, Boston, Marblehead, Salem, Mount Desert Island, and others. Sue and I, Michael, Sara, and their family (Ben and Larissa) also spent a great and memorable time sailing in the British Virgin Islands.

The big trip this year is the Caribbean 1500 from Portsmouth, VA to Tortola in the BVI. We've been planning for the trip, readying the boat, taking classes and training, and attending seminars for quite some time now to be ready to have the safest and most enjoyable trip the sea and weather will allow us to have. I'm happy with the boat and crew and I'm really looking forward to this offshore passage making trip"
Comments
Vessel Name: Captiva
Vessel Make/Model: Lagoon 440
Hailing Port: Newport, RI
Crew: Michael Callahan, Larissa Callahan, Chick DeStefano, Brad Fleisher & Nathan Kempfer
About: Michael Callahan (Ship's Captain): -Male, 63 Larissa Callahan (First Mate): -Female, 25 Chick DeStefano (Quarter Master): -Male, 63 Brad (Sailing Master) -Male, Nathan (Boatswain & Surgeon):
Extra: Email us! Captivacruisingusa@gmail.com
Captiva's Photos - Main
Captiva's first official offshore Voyage from Norfolk, VA to Tortola, BVI.
58 Photos
Created 5 November 2016
It's the beginning of Captiva's voyage down to the BVI! Total: 4 days & 3 nights
12 Photos
Created 16 September 2016
June 25-27, 2016 Trip #1 - Overnight trip from Boston, MA to Bar Harbor, ME -
17 Photos
Created 28 June 2016
June 17, 2016 Parasailor - ISTEC training with trainer, Martin Boston Harbor
19 Photos
Created 28 June 2016
Pictures taken over the years from past voyages
9 Photos
Created 14 June 2016