Cattitude

28 November 2015
26 November 2015
25 November 2015
01 February 2015 | St. Martin
12 December 2014 | Tortola
17 September 2014
10 September 2014 | Tortola BVI

Almost sunk

26 November 2015
We launched our boat today (Thanksgiving day) I started the stb. engine all was well, started the port engine, heard a squealing noise and black smoke was coming out of the engine room so I immediately shut down the engine and went to check it out, found the alternator was rusted up so the belt was slipping and smoking. I got out wd40 a hammer and screw driver. While I was working on that, I could hear water running so I asked Chris to check it out, she looked around and said it sounds like the port bilge pump. I get out of the engine room and looked at the bilge, water running in from forward, the only thing forward is the water maker, I shut the thru hull valve to the water maker and the water flow stops, the bilge pump is pumping out the water so I close it up, check the stbd. bilge and it is dry, all is right?

I go back to the alternator problem, wd40 and hammer and it's spinning freely, start the engine and all is well. We motor out of the lift well and tie to a mooring ball in the bay, mean while an alarm is going off for water in the sail drive (transmission) oil looks good and the level is correct.
I disconnect the sensor to shut off the alarm.
It is now to late the head south to Prickly Bay before dark so we stay. Work on the boat awhile, take showers and head into the restaurant. We eat supper and go back out to the boat around 9pm, we play a game of cards and Chris goes on the computer and I head up front to the trampoline to enjoy the evening and look at the stars. While laying on the trampoline I notice our navigation lights are on, so I head into the boat and find that some of the salon lights are on and the switches are off. I look at the circuit breakers and the nav lights are turned off. What the hell is going on? Out of the corner of my eye I notice water on the floor board in the port hull, I go down to see where it came from and see that all the floor boards are floating! Lots of stuff is under water! All the batteries and lots of wiring, oh boy, I called for Chris.
There is a main bilge pump and a back up diaphragm type pump mounted up higher not built to be underwater but it is! The fuse for the main pump is blown, I replace it but it blows again so I turn on the secondary pump and we begin to bail water out manually.
10 minutes later the diaphragm pump still underwater gives out, we keep bailing until the water is at a more reasonable level and I go remove the main bilge pump from the stbd. hull and install it in the port, it's working well, it's very lucky we did not just go to bed as our bedroom is in the stbd. hull. We would of woken up to a very serious problem!!

I looked around and found water coming in from behind one of the bathrooms, open the cabinet under the sink and found a valve open that use to supply water to the toilet (no longer in use) had to been opened by me after the boat was hauled last spring, why? I don't know.
It was a long night and we were wiped, we went to bed, I got up at 5am and cut open wiring looms and sprayed everything down with fresh water and set up a fan. Slowly lights are going out that weren't supposed to be on.

Curt
Comments
Vessel Name: Cattitude
Vessel Make/Model: 440 Lagoon
Hailing Port: Punta Gorda FL
Crew: Curt and Chris Saunders
Cattitude's Photos - Main
Photos from Grenada
No Photos
Created 29 November 2015