Sailing the California Delta

Stories of a new sailor exploring the California Delta on his 1982 Catalina 25

08 October 2014 | Mandeville Cut, San Joaquin River
10 September 2014 | Isleton, Ca
08 August 2014 | Isleton, Ca
08 August 2014 | Isleton, Ca
08 August 2014 | Isleton, Ca
08 August 2014 | Isleton, Ca
24 May 2011 | Owl Harbor, CA
24 April 2011 | ACYC Clubhouse 7 mile slough San Joaquin river
24 April 2011 | San Joaquin River, Ca
20 April 2011 | Sacramento, Ca
21 July 2009 | San Joaquin/California Delta
11 July 2009 | Sacramento
02 June 2009 | California Delta
20 May 2009 | California Delta
16 May 2009 | California Delta
12 April 2009 | San Joaquin River
08 April 2009 | Sacramento, Ca
06 April 2009 | Owl Harbor, Isleton, Ca
05 April 2009 | Owl Harbor, Isleton, California
16 March 2009 | Owl Harbor, Isleton Ca

Plumbing

06 April 2009 | Owl Harbor, Isleton, Ca
Sunny and warm
One of the other projects I took care of over the last few weeks was to rebuild the "Flipper" faucet/pump in the galley.
It was getting really bad, we would have to pull the faucet end out and prime it with water from a bottle to get it to pump, so that we could wash our hands, do dishes etc. I do not use the water from the tank right now because it needs to be cleaned and honestly the water in the marina tastes horrible, but it works well for doing dishes etc.

here is a picture of the pump.



I found a couple of rebuild kits online and some articles online at the Catalina owners website http://www.catalina-capri-25s.org/
But the morning that I went down with the new coax I stopped by west marine and they had the rebuild kit competitively priced if I factored in the shipping costs and they had it right there, I didn't have to wait a week for the kit, so I bought it.
When I got down to the boat ended up having to remove the sink so that I could get my largest channel locks on the lock ring/nut for the faucet. I figured it would take 1/4 hard turn then it would loosen up. Nope whoever installed the faucet at Catalina cross threaded the nut and it fought me the entire way off, this is a nylon nut on a nylon faucet so I know there was no oxidation or rust, and honestly as hard as it was to get off I'm really surprised something didn't break.
Once the faucet was off it came apart pretty easy and took about 45 minutes to rebuild, the kit came with all new gaskets, o-rings, a new check valve and check balls.
I took the opportunity to replace the hose clamps for the fresh water line and for the waste line from the sink, one of them had been leaking into the drawer below the sink and causing havoc. I resealed the sink with silicone caulk when I set it back in and tested the faucet, works like new for 1/3 the price.

The next thing I want to do is install my shure-flow pump. I have a through hull fitting under the cockpit that was used for the original depth sounder. The PO had abandoned that for a new depth sounder transducer under the dinette. So I have an unused through hull fitting that is close to the galley sink that would work great as a raw water source. The plan is to put a valve on the through hull, then a filter and line to the pump, then a faucet. Then I would have endless water for washing and such, and I could sanitize the fresh water system and actually use it for drinking and cooking water.
To sanitize the fresh water tank and plumbing I will need to replace the fill line 3/4-1 1/2" line about 6' then 1/2" line from the tank to the Flipper faucet about 10'. This will happen some time this summer. I already have the pump. I will need to figure out the valve and such but it is a very doable project.
Comments
Vessel Name: Cheddar Cheese II
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 25
Hailing Port: Isleton, Ca
Crew: Orrin & Pegirae Anderson

California Delta Sailing

Who: Orrin & Pegirae Anderson
Port: Isleton, Ca