Circle Sailing

13 June 2008
12 June 2008 | Mylor
09 June 2008
04 June 2008
03 June 2008
02 June 2008
01 June 2008
31 May 2008
28 May 2008
25 May 2008
24 May 2008
21 May 2008
19 May 2008

Near disasters

24 May 2008
Catching the early morning ferry with my bike to Madalena, Pico, I found the town small & quiet. So I cycled out along the north coast to take a look at the rural houses & the walled vineyards set in pumice. Maneuvering to get a better angle, & startled by an owner, I fell off the bike.....it's only pride!
The somnambulence of the town was explained, when at the ferry terminal, a reduced service was being provided, because it was a religious holiday. The 3 hrs. extra was spent watching the procession that emerged from the catholic church. Quite impressive. It seemed to include most of the population & 2 bands.
Back in Horta it was check out time & on my way again. "On my way" being short for "botched up exit". I forgot to start the second motor & almost caroomed off another boat.
What's worse than a water-maker that wont make water? It's a water-maker, making gobs of water, that you forget to turn off! So between Horta & Angra on the island of Terceira, I spent a couple of hrs. bailing.
Eventually we got parked in the Angra Marina about 10am yesterday. Everyone again was very helpful. This pm a live-aboard couple took me to some friends of their's BBQ, & to watch the Ankra's edition of Pamplona's running the bulls. Some experience indeed.
Comments
Vessel Name: Catsmeow
Vessel Make/Model: PROUT 38
Hailing Port: Fort Myers Beach

Port: Fort Myers Beach