Charis

Family adventures to not-so-distant locations aboard our Beneteau Oceanis 350

01 November 2007
06 October 2007 | Kenosha, WI
28 September 2007 | Kenosha, WI
23 September 2007 | kenosha, WI
16 September 2007 | Kenosha, WI
11 August 2007 | Saugatuck to Kenosha
10 August 2007 | Saugatuck, MI
09 August 2007 | Saugatuck, MI
08 August 2007 | Saugatuck, MI
07 August 2007 | Saugatuck, MI
06 August 2007 | Saugatuck, MI
05 August 2007 | Kenosha to Saugatuck
30 July 2007 | Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
17 June 2007 | Horseshoe Island, Peninsula State Park
12 January 2007 | Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
02 August 2005 | Kenosha, WI

Homeward Bound

11 August 2007 | Saugatuck to Kenosha
Kirk
This morning I woke to my alarm at 6am. After a quick check of the forecast, I cast off and began motoring out to the lake. There was a fishing tournament in Saugatuck this weekend and as I motored out of the river to the lake, I joined a parade of 50 fishing boats all heading in the same direction. And upon reaching Lake Michigan, there were another 75 boats already on the lake. I wound my way through the mass of fishermen waiting for the offical start of the tournament. Then at 7am, just as I had passed the last fishing boat and thought I might be home free, the tournament must have officially started. Each of those boats I had so carefully avoided on my way to the west gunned their engines and shot past me as they headed out to deaper water to fish. They all seemed to settle about 2-4 miles off shore, so for the next 45 minutes I picked my way through them again. I am sure they were wondering what kind of idiot would decided to sail through the middle of a fishing tournament.

There was absolutely no wind again this morning. So we motored through the glassy water of Lake Michigan. As we approached the mid-lake buoy, I was surprised to see another sailboat motoring westward on a similar course. I called him on the VHF and we both marveled at the fact that were were in the middle of the lake and here we were crossing paths. Like us, they had spent the week in Michigan as well and were now heading back to Northpoint Marina which is just 5 miles south of Kenosha. We followed them westward for most of the remainder of the day.

Finally at 1pm, a wind filled in from the South. And it was simply glorious to be finally sailing. We sailed at a steady 7 knots for the next 3 hours, but then the wind died again as we approached the Western shore. But it was great while it lasted.

We made it home in 11 hours and 30 minutes. The crossing in daylight was much more enjoyabe and stress free. It was also comforting sailing through most of the midde of the lake with Summer Breeze as she headed for Northpoint. Having our first big crossing under our belt helped as well. I think we are now much better prepared for a longer trip next summer.

Tired and ready for our own beds, the girls and I called Renee to come pick us up. It was a wonderful end to a fantastic sailing vacation with my family. Over dinner at home tonight we started planning for next summer's big trip... and I can hardly wait.
Comments
Vessel Name: Charis
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau Oceanis 350
Hailing Port: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Crew: Kirk Mies
About: My wife Renee, and our children, Erik, Emilie, Elisabeth, and Ethan
Extra: "Charis" (khar'-ece) is a Greek word which refers to God's unmerited favor or grace; the divine influence upon the heart, and its reflection in the life.

Who we are

Who: Kirk Mies
Port: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA