S/V Chase the Cat

Ocean: the final frontier. These are the voyages of the sailing ship Chase the Cat. Its five-year mission: to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life and new civilizations, to boldly go where no Chase the Cat has gone before.

26 September 2017 | Karimun Jawa
25 September 2017 | Karimun Jawa
24 September 2017 | Bawean
22 September 2017 | Bawean
18 September 2017 | Lowina
17 September 2017 | Lowina
15 September 2017 | Lowina
13 September 2017 | Lombok
12 September 2017 | Lombok
11 September 2017 | Lombok
09 September 2017 | Lombok
08 September 2017 | Gili Banta
06 September 2017 | Rinca Island (Komodo)
30 August 2017 | Labuan Bajo
29 August 2017 | Flores Region, somewhere around Riung
26 August 2017 | Maurole

The Towelhead-Brigade!

17 September 2017 | Lowina
Mel
Today we signed up for a bus tour to visit “Omunity” a HomeStay Village at some Village in Balis Mountains. As usual it was a mix of festival for the Villagers and Welcome Ceremony for the Wonderful Sail to Indonesia Rally. The men got given a little traditional Indonesian Bandana to wear and us Ladys a little Frangipani Flower for our Hair. Grant wore his “Towel” pretty good. The festival attendants had a lot of Bandanas left over and one of the helpers put one on my head. He giggled and said something Indonesian to his friend, and both went giggling away giving more Bandanas to other Ladys. These Bandanas were only meant for Men, but I was a proud “Towelhead” and wore it with a big smile. The festival started and, yes, you guessed it, we got given a Speech. I have noticed, Indonesians always carry a full bag of speeches with them and they are not afraid to use them. After the speeches, we got given sugar - Sugar in form of coffee or tea, and solid sugar with rice, vegetable, donut or gooey taste. They even asked you, if you’d like your sugar with sugar. While we were eating and drinking our sugar, they held a oxen cart race. As soon as it was finished, they invited us to try it out. Grant must have done that before, because he looked just too perfect on his oxen cart. After, we got separated into five groups. Every group got to see something different. Our group saw a Hindu temple, listened to their music and visited a Homestay, where they gave us fresh carrot juice without added sugar. At the back, you could see a man working on a rice paddy with his oxen. I was starving and could not wait for lunch. When they finally took us for lunch, we had to first watch some traditional dancing. How could I forget! As soon as the dance finished, I raced to the queue of the Buffett. I loaded my plate with little bits of everything and happily sat down next to Grant to dig in. I started eating, only to find out that this food fell into my category of inedible. The first thing I shoved into my mouth must have been ground up chicken bones. Little poky splinters rammed into the gabs of my teeth and gums. They might as well have served me a prickly cactus. As painful it was, I swallowed and washed after it with some foul tasting whatever that was. I decided to only eat the plain rice and the plain salad leaf that had a flying ant on it. No, I didn’t eat the ant, silly! I looked around. Most Yachties were gobbling the meal down. Funny, but none of the Indonesians were eating what we got given… I was disappointed. Fortunately, we stopped at a Carrefour Supermarket, where I bought Spicy Chicken and Mangosteen.
Comments
Vessel Name: Chase the Cat
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau First 31
Crew: Grant, Mel and Chase
Chase the Cat's Photos - Main
No items in this gallery.