New Life for Christy Lee

Detailing the restoration of a classic Spencer 35...

16 August 2017
30 September 2014
27 July 2014
07 June 2014
22 February 2014
05 February 2014
25 January 2014
02 June 2013
10 April 2013
25 March 2013 | Norfolk, VA
15 March 2013
14 March 2013
13 March 2013
12 March 2013
03 March 2013
28 February 2013
24 February 2013
23 February 2013

Back in town

23 January 2012
Steve's keeping me honest! i was out of town last week, went to Tennessee to help out a co-worker getting maintenance knocked out, so nothing got done here. HOWEVER (ahem!) before I got the call on Friday to head down, I had tackled one of my big problems onboard, the propane for the stove. A couple problems existed there: for starters the hose running from the cylinder located aft in the lazarette forworward to the stove needed to be replaced, a task requiring extensive work climbing around in cavern underneath the cockpit. I have, in the past, saved THAT environment for my kids, who are far better suited to climbing around in the crawl space. The second issue is relocating the cutoff switch to the other side of the cabin where it can be accessed in event of a fire, kind of the whole point of having a cutout switch. The third issue is securing the tank, which was "held in place" with a bungy cord. I use quotes because that solution simply didn't work. Soooo...
I got the new hose ran, having had to drill a few holes to accomodate the modern fitting. I purchased everything necessary to secure the tank. I also connected something to the propane cutoff switch. I say "something" because I really don't know what I hooked up to the breaker, but I do know what I DIDN'T hook up. Guess I got something mixed up when I traced out the wires; twice. They're blue and white back at the electrovalve and black and white up at the switch. Maybe they got spliced? Nope, rang 'em out, they're simply the wrong wires. Have to go back this week and start over on the electrical. I expect to take the Coleman propane camp stove I've been using home with me on Friday. I'll let you know :-) .

Oh, just for kicks, the photo is of my sailbags which I recently put into storage for the winter. Working jib, storm jib, 120, 150, 180, 2 chutes and a drifter. Main is still flaked on the boom, 2 other old mains in storage until I find a cool use for them. Oh, yes, and one of my dogs, Lola, a Rhodesian Ridgeback, decided to jump in the pic at the last minute.
Comments
Vessel Name: Christy Lee
Vessel Make/Model: 1963 Spencer 35
Hailing Port: Chesapeake, VA
Crew: Steph & the kids
About:
I got a boat in the first place because cruising is a family thing. I have many, MANY good memories of sailing that involved my uncles, my grandparents, and the good people at VYC. My crew is my family, and anybody else who decides to come along. [...]
Extra: “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” - Mark Twain

Cap'n Mike's Info

Who: Steph & the kids
Port: Chesapeake, VA