Cisnecito Around the World

Who: Julie and Chris Mays
Port: Newport, RI
02 February 2008 | Newport Beach, California
29 January 2008 | Newport Beach, CA
27 January 2008 | Balboa Yacht Club, California
25 January 2008 | San Diego, California
23 January 2008 | Mission Bay, California
20 January 2008 | Public Docks, San Diego
18 January 2008 | Shelter Island, San Diego
18 January 2008 | San Diego, California
17 January 2008 | United States/Mexico Border
17 January 2008 | Ensenada, Mexico
17 January 2008 | Ensenada Mexico
17 January 2008 | Ensenada, Mexico
16 January 2008 | Ensenada, Mexico
16 January 2008 | Ensenada, Mexico
14 January 2008 | Sacramento Reef, Baja California
14 January 2008 | Islas San Benitos
12 January 2008 | Islas San Benitos
12 January 2008 | Islas San Benitos
12 January 2008 | 60 Miles West of Turtle Bay
10 January 2008 | 130 Miles South of Cedros Island

Possibly Our Final Night at Sea

14 January 2008 | Sacramento Reef, Baja California
Julie
We had a nice day of sailing since leaving San Benitos this morning. The wind was variable, but we were able to sail most of the day and the seas have stayed fairly calm. I am now on my first watch of the night and we are motoring as there is very little wind (although it seems to be building as I type). We are 130 miles from Ensenada and if we are able to hold our current speed, we should be in before nightfall tomorrow. This just made it occur to me that this is quite possibly our last night at sea of this voyage. There have been points in this trip where this would have been music to my ears, but I am actually finding myself kind of sad.

To think of all the nights we have spent sailing in the last three years, I have a lot of fond memories. In the beginning, I will admit, I was terrified on my night watches, but over time, I have come to enjoy them, almost more than I do my day watches a lot of times. Of course there are good and bad nights - and invariably, if anything is going to go wrong, especially with the sails or weather, it happens at about 2am in the pitch black. But for the most part, I find sailing at night to be very peaceful and almost therapeutic. It's time that I have all to myself (and that is a valuable commodity living on a small boat with three people) and while I have to actually sail the boat and keep a close lookout for other boats, this still leaves a lot of time to read, listen to music, books, and podcasts, or simply sit and think. And for some reason, even when we are out in the middle of nowhere, it does not feel lonely or scary to me. I know that will sound corny, especially coming from me, but I really feel like the stars the sea and someone above are all watching out for us. Like I said, corny, but it gives me a sense of peace.

What is sad is that I am sure that once we get home, I will never have this type of time ever again. I have to remind myself of that on rare occasions when I have had just about enough and think to myself - I will give anything for this amount of free time one of these days. I also jokingly think that being in the habit of waking up every two to four hours has prepared me for the day I have kids, as for the last few years, sleeping through the night has been a rare luxury. Maybe I'll have to start setting an alarm every few hours once we get home so I don't get out of practice!
Comments
Vessel Name: Cisnecito
Vessel Make/Model: Swan 46 MkII
Hailing Port: Newport, RI
Crew: Julie and Chris Mays
Extra: After three years of freezing in New York, we decided to give up our corporate careers to set sail on the opportunity of a lifetime...
Home Page: http://www.cisnecito.com/

Who: Julie and Chris Mays
Port: Newport, RI