For As Long As It Lasts

11 May 2013 | Kingston
29 April 2013 | Kingston/Toronto
22 April 2013 | Inverary, Ontario
22 April 2013 | Kingston
17 April 2013 | Kingston
12 April 2013 | Kingston
10 April 2013 | Kingston
28 March 2013 | Kingston
23 March 2013 | Kingston
13 March 2013 | Kingston
10 March 2013 | Kingston
28 February 2013 | Kingston
27 February 2013 | Kingston
19 February 2013 | Kingston
14 February 2013 | Kingston
09 February 2013 | Kingston
06 February 2013 | Kingston
05 February 2013 | Kingston
02 February 2013
31 January 2013 | Kingston

Knitters don't BULLY

06 May 2011 | Miami-at non-hostile anchorage
humid -
The weather the last 2 days has allowed me to complete a few WIPs. The posted photo was requested by my daughter and its done in a super wash Merino that I purchased when home at Wooltyme. During our almost 2 years travelling down the eastern waterway I have been fortunate to visit some great knit shops and meet nice people. I even met a very nice man Ken in Stuart who came by Great Balls of Yarn with a finished sweater he had knit and was looking to hire Susan from the store to sew it together for him. She quoted him about 4 hours of her time at $10./hour. I was dumbfounded, I asked her if she was serious. Sewing together a hand knit is a huge job and I'd never do it for 10 bucks an hour. But then it occurred to me Ken was kinda sweet, maybe she was thinking "a bonus".

My point is I have yet to meet any mean knitters or shops on the water way. I've sat in with some Stitch n Bitches when i could, shared stories and learned new techniques.

After yesterdays post Al and I have had emails from friends we have met on this journey who wanted to apologize on his behalf. We would never judge a whole nation on the behaviour of this fellow. In fact we discussed over supper last night the kindnesses bestowed upon us by complete strangers in this boating lifestyle. Deltaville resonates with me at the moment. In that town, if you are seen walking with a back pack you are automatically pegged as a boater and given a ride to and fro the grocery store and asked if there is any place else you need to be taken.
Comments
Vessel Name: Close Knit
Vessel Make/Model: Marine Trader Double Cabin
Hailing Port: Kingston, Ontario
Crew: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
About: Ex sailboat couple from S/V Ruth. Continuing our trip down south, in a little more comfort (& alot more work!)
Extra:
Alistair and Jennifer are a couple who met in 2007 after Jennifer survived a stroke in early 2006 and lost her husband to cancer the same year. Al had been a life long sailor and after dating several months Al suggested a lifestyle on a boat, cruising. Jennifer had no sailing experience and was [...]

Who: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
Port: Kingston, Ontario