For As Long As It Lasts

11 May 2013 | Kingston
29 April 2013 | Kingston/Toronto
22 April 2013 | Inverary, Ontario
22 April 2013 | Kingston
17 April 2013 | Kingston
12 April 2013 | Kingston
10 April 2013 | Kingston
28 March 2013 | Kingston
23 March 2013 | Kingston
13 March 2013 | Kingston
10 March 2013 | Kingston
28 February 2013 | Kingston
27 February 2013 | Kingston
19 February 2013 | Kingston
14 February 2013 | Kingston
09 February 2013 | Kingston
06 February 2013 | Kingston
05 February 2013 | Kingston
02 February 2013
31 January 2013 | Kingston

Applesauce

13 July 2012 | Kingston, Ontario
Jennifer - hot, hot, hot
Yesterday I got Al up and moving early. I want him to build his endurance. So he wasn’t keen to get going but I’m in tough love mode and staying in bed was not an option. I know how tiring it can be healing a brain, but I also know you have to make efforts. So We got Al into his chair before 10 a.m., We trekked to the sun room, did a few laps of the hall. I am on a new fitness routine. When we arrived back in Al’s room, Emma the sppeech language pathologist arrived for his swallowing test. I had tried to prepare Al for this, and clearly I dad forgotten some of the requirements. Al had difficulty doing a hearty cough, and his tongue movement on the right side is extremely weak. He did well with water but the pudding was sluggish. After some word sounds and tongue maneuvers, Emma deemed Al was only able to handle water, tepid tea and/or coffee and applesauce. He appeared disappointed in this. I think he was envisioning his next steak. I was not surprised and had hoped for more. But realistically we need him to be safe and it will be a slow process getting to even pureed food. He will keep getting his nutrition via his feeding tube. I look forward to helping him with his first applesauce today. Maybe followed by some tea or coffee.

I have not pushed him to get up yet this morning. I had to go to the dentist, which I hate. Al seems in discomfort of some kind this a.m. but he is not able to quite communicate the exact problem. So I’ll give him a break this morning but I will encourage him to get up when Lisa comes this afternoon.

A friend visited last night and it was nice to get a differnt perspective. She felt Al was the same guy inside. He puckered for a smooch and made the appropriate facial responses to our chatter.
Comments
Vessel Name: Close Knit
Vessel Make/Model: Marine Trader Double Cabin
Hailing Port: Kingston, Ontario
Crew: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
About: Ex sailboat couple from S/V Ruth. Continuing our trip down south, in a little more comfort (& alot more work!)
Extra:
Alistair and Jennifer are a couple who met in 2007 after Jennifer survived a stroke in early 2006 and lost her husband to cancer the same year. Al had been a life long sailor and after dating several months Al suggested a lifestyle on a boat, cruising. Jennifer had no sailing experience and was [...]

Who: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
Port: Kingston, Ontario