For As Long As It Lasts

11 May 2013 | Kingston
29 April 2013 | Kingston/Toronto
22 April 2013 | Inverary, Ontario
22 April 2013 | Kingston
17 April 2013 | Kingston
12 April 2013 | Kingston
10 April 2013 | Kingston
28 March 2013 | Kingston
23 March 2013 | Kingston
13 March 2013 | Kingston
10 March 2013 | Kingston
28 February 2013 | Kingston
27 February 2013 | Kingston
19 February 2013 | Kingston
14 February 2013 | Kingston
09 February 2013 | Kingston
06 February 2013 | Kingston
05 February 2013 | Kingston
02 February 2013
31 January 2013 | Kingston

Crazy Pie

20 July 2012
Jennifer
Yesterday was one big piece of crazy pie. From the moment I got on the bus the craziness started. A man named Carl boarded with his baseball cap on and feathers out the top giving him an Indian flair. He never stopped talking, to everyone who got on the bus. There was more craziness on the bus, but I digress.

Al's new room mate is an elderly gentleman in a neck brace and he thinks I'm his personal assistant. Despite me trying to be quiet when I arrived, as soon as he heard my voice he started his ritual of asking me for water, to get him some wipes, to get the phone AND dial numbers for him. He arrived on Monday and I have not seen one visitor or a wife. Maybe if I quit dialing her for him she might actually come and help out. Yikes. I have shown him repeatedly his call bell and shown him how to summon his nurse and not me.

After I finished attending to Rodney I got caught up with Al. I was upset to see he had his catheter back. My craziness was amplified by the fact I had missed 4 days of my own crazy pill and had not gotten to the pharmacy for my script. Before I had tracked down Al's nurse , Lisa his physio asked if Al had told me his news. I told her I had not had much chance to talk to him yet and she filled me in. She said Al had been much chattier with her in my absence and he wanted to stand, so she made it happen for him. With the help of her assistant Al stood up. And yesterdays plan was to do more of the same.

Unfortunately Al did not participate in physio yesterday after all because he became increasingly distressed with the catheter. It had been re-inserted because of bleeding and clots so he was hooked back up for irrigation. And Al will now be visited by Urology to sort out this newest problem. Crazy Pie. The irrigation itself was going well flushing out his bladder but he started having painful spasms again. I cornered the nurse in charge and asked if he couldn't have something for that pain. She returned after consultation with the charge Doctor and Al was to be given something for pain and it was decided to remove the catheter again until Urology sees him.

So yesterday was a whole lot of craziness. My sister came by and took me for my drugs and helped me make fresh beds. And Bridget came for an over nighter. Nice to have her home for a bit. My sister will come for coffee and breakfast this morning and give me a ride to KGH and take Bridget back home with her. Al's daughter Tonia will come for the weekend to visit.

Oh I forgot to report War Horse was OUTSTANDING. I enjoyed my day away although it was tiring and a long day. I snuck in a wee bit of power shopping, scoring three new skirts. I brought Al back a new War Horse Tee shirt.


Comments
Vessel Name: Close Knit
Vessel Make/Model: Marine Trader Double Cabin
Hailing Port: Kingston, Ontario
Crew: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
About: Ex sailboat couple from S/V Ruth. Continuing our trip down south, in a little more comfort (& alot more work!)
Extra:
Alistair and Jennifer are a couple who met in 2007 after Jennifer survived a stroke in early 2006 and lost her husband to cancer the same year. Al had been a life long sailor and after dating several months Al suggested a lifestyle on a boat, cruising. Jennifer had no sailing experience and was [...]

Who: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
Port: Kingston, Ontario