For As Long As It Lasts

11 May 2013 | Kingston
29 April 2013 | Kingston/Toronto
22 April 2013 | Inverary, Ontario
22 April 2013 | Kingston
17 April 2013 | Kingston
12 April 2013 | Kingston
10 April 2013 | Kingston
28 March 2013 | Kingston
23 March 2013 | Kingston
13 March 2013 | Kingston
10 March 2013 | Kingston
28 February 2013 | Kingston
27 February 2013 | Kingston
19 February 2013 | Kingston
14 February 2013 | Kingston
09 February 2013 | Kingston
06 February 2013 | Kingston
05 February 2013 | Kingston
02 February 2013
31 January 2013 | Kingston

Unplugged

25 July 2012 | Kingston, Ontario
Jennifer- sunny and hot


As of yesterday Al is totally unplugged from IV and feeding tube. If I am repeating myself its because I am over worked and under paid. The feeding tube will stay for 6 weeks. Al is doing well in his physiotherapy. He does not enjoy it. I bribed him yesterday with a reward of a milkshake and a walk outside. The chairs are hard for me to muscle so I couldn’t get him right over to the water, but I elicited some giggles from him when I got us caught between some doors and almost lost control with a parked car. Today my arm muscles still feel the work out from yesterday. Lisa, Al’s physiotherapist says Al is definitely ready for the next step which is a move to St. Mary’s. I was ecstatic to hear this because I was more advanced when they accepted me. Lisa and I discussed this floor is more focused on medicine and not rehab. Lisa had suggested to staff using the sera lift (a mechanical standind lift)for transfers for Al but they insist on using the sling lift. Really it is because it is less effort and quicker for them. Its like last week I butted heads with a staff member, (not a physician) about Al’s catheter. She felt he would be better with it. I was insisting he would be more comfortable having it out. She was a PCA and I know her reasons were because it would make her job easier. I stood my ground, and Al has been much better without the catheter. To ease her pain I have been stepping up and doing urinal duty and diaper changing myself. Its taken a week but I finally can place that diaper in the right position so its no longer looking like a thong. So, I got off track there. St. Mary’s is much more rehab focused so I expect to see progress there. I just hope there are no new brewing infections that might hold us back. Fingers and toes crossed.
Comments
Vessel Name: Close Knit
Vessel Make/Model: Marine Trader Double Cabin
Hailing Port: Kingston, Ontario
Crew: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
About: Ex sailboat couple from S/V Ruth. Continuing our trip down south, in a little more comfort (& alot more work!)
Extra:
Alistair and Jennifer are a couple who met in 2007 after Jennifer survived a stroke in early 2006 and lost her husband to cancer the same year. Al had been a life long sailor and after dating several months Al suggested a lifestyle on a boat, cruising. Jennifer had no sailing experience and was [...]

Who: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
Port: Kingston, Ontario