For As Long As It Lasts

11 May 2013 | Kingston
29 April 2013 | Kingston/Toronto
22 April 2013 | Inverary, Ontario
22 April 2013 | Kingston
17 April 2013 | Kingston
12 April 2013 | Kingston
10 April 2013 | Kingston
28 March 2013 | Kingston
23 March 2013 | Kingston
13 March 2013 | Kingston
10 March 2013 | Kingston
28 February 2013 | Kingston
27 February 2013 | Kingston
19 February 2013 | Kingston
14 February 2013 | Kingston
09 February 2013 | Kingston
06 February 2013 | Kingston
05 February 2013 | Kingston
02 February 2013
31 January 2013 | Kingston

Breakfast of Champions

28 July 2012 | Kingston, Ontario
Jennifer
Al has gone up another notch on the food chain. His next step will be a regular diet. This morning he got toast (sans crust) and Cheerios. A welcome change from oat meal and cream of wheat and puddings and fruit sauces. His new diet allows him choices which is nice. He is becoming more independent during meal time.

I am a bit of an enabler and I was busted yesterday helping Rodney shave. I had not clued into the fact that OT(Occupational Therapy) had been trying to get him more independent for his impending discharge. Ooops. It was discovered he was not advancing to independence quickly because I was dancing to his tune. His OT explained to him that he needed to shave himself, because I wouldn't be going home with him. (What a relief that was to hear.) If he asked me for help, I gave it. Its just my nature. So now that I have been instructed not to help him but to encourage him that he can do things himself, guess I will get more knitting done now. This forced me to think about how much help I am giving Al. So I am trying to step back and let him do more things for himself.

Unfortunately Al does have a degree of aphasia. His cognition is impaired. I think with time and strategies this will improve. He can communicate. A lot of words have escaped him but he still manages to get his point across with a lot of non-verbal communication. His therapist has already given me some strategies.

I am seeing a bit more movement in his right leg every day. This is super encouraging. No improvement yet in his right arm but based on my own experience I am not surprised and I will not let go of the idea that it will return in time and with intense therapy.
Comments
Vessel Name: Close Knit
Vessel Make/Model: Marine Trader Double Cabin
Hailing Port: Kingston, Ontario
Crew: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
About: Ex sailboat couple from S/V Ruth. Continuing our trip down south, in a little more comfort (& alot more work!)
Extra:
Alistair and Jennifer are a couple who met in 2007 after Jennifer survived a stroke in early 2006 and lost her husband to cancer the same year. Al had been a life long sailor and after dating several months Al suggested a lifestyle on a boat, cruising. Jennifer had no sailing experience and was [...]

Who: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
Port: Kingston, Ontario