For As Long As It Lasts

11 May 2013 | Kingston
29 April 2013 | Kingston/Toronto
22 April 2013 | Inverary, Ontario
22 April 2013 | Kingston
17 April 2013 | Kingston
12 April 2013 | Kingston
10 April 2013 | Kingston
28 March 2013 | Kingston
23 March 2013 | Kingston
13 March 2013 | Kingston
10 March 2013 | Kingston
28 February 2013 | Kingston
27 February 2013 | Kingston
19 February 2013 | Kingston
14 February 2013 | Kingston
09 February 2013 | Kingston
06 February 2013 | Kingston
05 February 2013 | Kingston
02 February 2013
31 January 2013 | Kingston

Great Report

13 November 2012 | Kingston
Jennifer
Friends and fellow cruisers of Mysticbond generously agreed to check on Close Knit when they went to launch their boat for this years cruising season. Mysticbond has been wintering in the boat yard next to our boat yard. They reported to us yesterday that all appears well with the boat. No mould or weird smells despite the dehimidifier being tripped off a few times. We were both relieved to hear this news. Aside from topping up the charcoal trays nothing else appeared wrong.

I drive my tiny mind crazy trying to figure out when or how we might get to the boat yard. Al and I had kind of agreed to not do anything with the boat for a while but I fear the longer she sits alone, that she will deteriorate and be worthless. Someone could be living their dream on this cute little boat. I'm not sure Al will ever regain all the abilities needed to be a competent and safe captain. I truly enjoyed our time on the boat but I was never the kind of woman who took charge and docked the boat or rose an anchor. I cooked, provisioned and cleaned. I am not embarssed to say I still don't understand the electric on the boat, I still think AC means "air conditioning". I suppose if we were only ever going forward I could do that. But pulling up for gas would even freak my freak. I may consult with a friend here about the logistics of importing the boat to Canada. If it were here in Collins Bay perhaps family and friends could help us enjoy her. What to do, What to do.
Comments
Vessel Name: Close Knit
Vessel Make/Model: Marine Trader Double Cabin
Hailing Port: Kingston, Ontario
Crew: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
About: Ex sailboat couple from S/V Ruth. Continuing our trip down south, in a little more comfort (& alot more work!)
Extra:
Alistair and Jennifer are a couple who met in 2007 after Jennifer survived a stroke in early 2006 and lost her husband to cancer the same year. Al had been a life long sailor and after dating several months Al suggested a lifestyle on a boat, cruising. Jennifer had no sailing experience and was [...]

Who: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
Port: Kingston, Ontario