For As Long As It Lasts

11 May 2013 | Kingston
29 April 2013 | Kingston/Toronto
22 April 2013 | Inverary, Ontario
22 April 2013 | Kingston
17 April 2013 | Kingston
12 April 2013 | Kingston
10 April 2013 | Kingston
28 March 2013 | Kingston
23 March 2013 | Kingston
13 March 2013 | Kingston
10 March 2013 | Kingston
28 February 2013 | Kingston
27 February 2013 | Kingston
19 February 2013 | Kingston
14 February 2013 | Kingston
09 February 2013 | Kingston
06 February 2013 | Kingston
05 February 2013 | Kingston
02 February 2013
31 January 2013 | Kingston

For The Birds

28 March 2013 | Kingston
Jennifer - warming up but grey


These are bits of natural (ie. no chemicals) fibers I have set aside from a year of knitting. Once I see the first Robin I scatter these bits at the base of trees. I could be delusional (and likely am) in my thinking that the Robins will seek this out for use in their nest making. Its bright, fun and super warm. I have to believe its just got to be better than twigs and dead grass. I like to think I’m the Home Depot for birds, providing free easy to access insulation (delusional again).
Part of this is how I entertain myself and balance my caregiving. Yesterday we got an ambulance ride to Emergency to deal with the current issue. Al’s catheter had become blocked with clots from his Warfarin level being too low. He got irrigated and we were on our way with a new increased dose of Warfarin to take. This whole Warfarin thing is very sensitive and despite my best efforts to get the blood work drawn at home, it appears I will have to Take Al out often for this testing. If I take him to HDH (Hotel Dieu Hospital) the blood gets drawn and the results within an hour. If Life Lab comes in, it goes off to Toronto and you don’t get results until the next day (thank you privatization). Since the Warfarin levels dance a fine line between life and death I will take him to HDH. Fortunately the weather is turning warmer here. I will scatter my bits today for the birds and revel in the delusion that I am making them warm and cozy homes.
Comments
Vessel Name: Close Knit
Vessel Make/Model: Marine Trader Double Cabin
Hailing Port: Kingston, Ontario
Crew: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
About: Ex sailboat couple from S/V Ruth. Continuing our trip down south, in a little more comfort (& alot more work!)
Extra:
Alistair and Jennifer are a couple who met in 2007 after Jennifer survived a stroke in early 2006 and lost her husband to cancer the same year. Al had been a life long sailor and after dating several months Al suggested a lifestyle on a boat, cruising. Jennifer had no sailing experience and was [...]

Who: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
Port: Kingston, Ontario