The Cruising Life on Altair

Cruising the east coast of the United States and the Caribbean aboard Altair

Vessel Name: Altair
Vessel Make/Model: SAGA 48
Hailing Port: Annapolis, MD
Crew: Capt. Joe Reed
About: Sailing the Eastern United States and Caribbean.
28 September 2015
05 May 2015 | Nanny Cay, Tortola, BVI
29 August 2014
Recent Blog Posts
28 September 2015

Sailing with New Crew

It is always important to train new crew members.

05 May 2015 | Nanny Cay, Tortola, BVI

Time to head North

I’m closing out the 2014-15 Cruising season in the Virgin Islands. Since arriving in November, I have mastered picking up a mooring Solo on Altair. I had four sets of visitors.

29 August 2014

Trip to Maine

Ken Dickinson, Tom Griffin and I departed Annapolis, MD around 11 am Thursday, August 7 for a trip to Maine, This was my shakedown cruise for Altair, the plan was over the almost three week trip to check out as many systems as possible and get familiar with how she handled off shore.

Time to head North

05 May 2015 | Nanny Cay, Tortola, BVI
I’m closing out the 2014-15 Cruising season in the Virgin Islands. Since arriving in November, I have mastered picking up a mooring Solo on Altair. I had four sets of visitors.

Joel & Tammy came the end of December and we did Foxy’s on Josh Van Dyke for New Year & my birthday, then cruised the BVI for a week. Jeff, my son, was here in January for a week. Barbara visited in February for 10 days. Teri and Patrica were here in March. It was a good mix of visitors and solo sailing over the last six months.

Altair is in Nanny Cay preparing for the World Cruising Club’s ARC USA. Most of the preparation has been completed and the safety inspection was done Monday. That evening was the welcome event and I saw several captain’s and crews from previous rallies.

The Crew is scheduled to arrive on Thursday. I’ll get them trained and then we head for Ft Lauderdale, FL Friday, May 9th.
Comments

About & Links