Cruising with Grace

20 May 2018 | My kitchen, Needham MA
16 May 2018 | Mooring 831, Hewitts Cove, Hingham MA
04 May 2018 | Cape May harbor, off the Coast Guard base
25 April 2018 | Onancock Creek
10 April 2018 | Barefoot Landing Marina, which is free while they are closed
02 April 2018 | Turtle Island, just inside the border with South Carolina
26 March 2018 | St Augustine Municipal Marina, right next to the Bridge of Lions
22 March 2018 | ICW Mile 946
17 March 2018 | Old Bahama Marina, West End, Bahamas
11 March 2018 | Conch Marina, Marsh Harbor
04 March 2018 | Anchored off Russell Island next to Spanish Wells
24 February 2018 | Off Monument Beach, Stocking Island
18 February 2018 | Anchored off Stocking Island, across the harbor from Georgetown
11 February 2018 | Georgetown
04 February 2018 | Nassau Harbor Club Marina
28 January 2018 | In a slip at the Nassau Harbor Club Marina
19 January 2018 | Anchorage between Whale and Bird Cay
15 January 2018 | South of Frazier Hog Island
11 January 2018 | Browns Marina, Bimini, Bahamas
07 January 2018 | No Name Harbor, Key Biscayne

Ahh... The Chesapeake!

10 October 2017 | Sailing Associates Marina, Georgetown, MD
Promising to be a nice day.
Until a day ago, I was sailing through places to get to where I wanted to go. Now I'm in one of those places - Chesapeake Bay, home of river and creeks, charming towns and too many destinations to choose from.

I motored out of the C&D Canal Sunday morning - a long motor with both current and wind from the head (the direction I was moving). The C&D is different from the Cape Cod Canal in that it's a transit route for large ships - you can see one in my photo gallery. When I would see one coming, I would move towards the side of the canal to give them larger berth.

Then the run down the bay towards the Sassafras River and Georgetown, where I had a reservation for two nights. The Sassafras winds around with the countryside getting closer and closer. Georgetown is a marina town, with hundreds of boats at the docks and moorings.

I made my routine list of 'things to do' - figuring with the remnants of Nate coming through, it was a good time to catch up. On the list: plan itinerary, call marinas in Florida to find a place to leave Grace in December when I fly back home, do laundry, go shopping for food, and work on my battery charging problem. The whole morning was spent on the battery charging problem, including an hour-long phone call and many texts with my friend Jay. Lots of taking voltage readings, removing the alternator and seeing if I could get the old one in (I couldn't), having my two batteries tested (my NEW one is bad! Not completely bad, and I will live with it until ). I could never find what the problem was, did install a new fan belt - and the problem 'went away'... Frankly, I'm not sure if I had a problem - just odd behavior that made me think I had a problem. We'll see.

I got pretty much everything else on the list done - grocery shopping entailed a 3.5 mile round-trip walk, but have still not figured out an itinerary for the next seven days. Too many choices, and I want to go slow and take it easy. I do have a destination for today - the Magothy River, very scenic with lots of anchorages, but after that, still don't have a plan.

Last evening was beautiful on the Sassafras. Nice steak and potatoes dinner, with red wine, phone call with my son Andrew, conversation with a man on the boat next to me, and a fantastic sunset. You can see a picture in the Gallery.

Side note - I am not impressed with the Map function. I believe I have set up right... but it doesn't show anything. So continue to look here for where I am.
Comments
Vessel Name: Grace
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 320
Hailing Port: Needham MA
Crew: Alex Cullen
Extra: This trip will be my 'transition to retirement'
Grace's Photos - Main
44 Photos
Created 22 March 2018
From Dec 29th thru until March
100 Photos
Created 31 December 2017
September to December
93 Photos
Created 29 September 2017