Cruising with Grace

20 May 2018 | My kitchen, Needham MA
16 May 2018 | Mooring 831, Hewitts Cove, Hingham MA
04 May 2018 | Cape May harbor, off the Coast Guard base
25 April 2018 | Onancock Creek
10 April 2018 | Barefoot Landing Marina, which is free while they are closed
02 April 2018 | Turtle Island, just inside the border with South Carolina
26 March 2018 | St Augustine Municipal Marina, right next to the Bridge of Lions
22 March 2018 | ICW Mile 946
17 March 2018 | Old Bahama Marina, West End, Bahamas
11 March 2018 | Conch Marina, Marsh Harbor
04 March 2018 | Anchored off Russell Island next to Spanish Wells
24 February 2018 | Off Monument Beach, Stocking Island
18 February 2018 | Anchored off Stocking Island, across the harbor from Georgetown
11 February 2018 | Georgetown
04 February 2018 | Nassau Harbor Club Marina
28 January 2018 | In a slip at the Nassau Harbor Club Marina
19 January 2018 | Anchorage between Whale and Bird Cay
15 January 2018 | South of Frazier Hog Island
11 January 2018 | Browns Marina, Bimini, Bahamas
07 January 2018 | No Name Harbor, Key Biscayne

No Name Harbor - Still

07 January 2018 | No Name Harbor, Key Biscayne
Sunny, and gradually getting warmer.
As the title suggests, I'm still in No Name Harbor on Key Biscayne. Someone used the word 'stuck', but it's too pleasant a place for that word. None-the-less, I and the cruisers on the other boats are waiting, and a bit impatiently waiting, for 'The Window'. This is when the wind and seas cooperate to make crossing to the Bahamas feasible.

There are at least 8 boats here who are also waiting. A family from Three Rivers Quebec, a smattering of older and younger couples, and at least one other single-hander - an 80 yr old who lives on a 32', mid-60s Allied Seawind ketch - see photo in gallery. His boat is called Sea Isle, and he joked with me that, now that he's 80, he's going to put an N in the name - 'Sea N ile'... I think he's told that joke before... Some cruisers are very experienced with going to the Bahamas, others are first-timers like me. We'll be getting together to discuss what day will be the best for our crossing.

I've spent my time here completing my project list, trips into town to get various supplies, and some exploring of the park, the lighthouse area and beach. Courtesy of my birder friend Gene, I now know I've seen a Black Skimmer (a type of bird - see gallery). There are bike paths and nature trails that crisscross the park. In my last post I included a picture in the gallery of houses on stilts - apparently this was once a thriving community. I've included a picture in the gallery of the plaque that describes it. I also tried snorkeling inn the harbor here, but the water is too milky to see anything. Note - I've been telling folks the water temperature is 75 - well, it's not. A bit more like upper 60s yesterday.

This next week, baring significant changes to the forecast, will be when I set my course eastward across the gulf stream. The 'best day' keeps slipping, but this week has winds from the east, south and southwest. Waiting too long increases the chance that the winds swing around northward, and everyone would have to wait even longer.
Comments
Vessel Name: Grace
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 320
Hailing Port: Needham MA
Crew: Alex Cullen
Extra: This trip will be my 'transition to retirement'
Grace's Photos - Main
44 Photos
Created 22 March 2018
From Dec 29th thru until March
100 Photos
Created 31 December 2017
September to December
93 Photos
Created 29 September 2017