S/V Endorfin

"Fulfilling our dreams, one ocean at a time"

05 February 2014 | Nicaragua
02 February 2014
01 February 2014
28 January 2014 | Barillas, El Salvador
19 January 2014 | Chiapas, Mexico
18 May 2011 | Bahia Aqua Verde - BCS
11 May 2011 | San Evaristo Anchorage - May 11-14
10 May 2011 | Isla San Francisco to San Evaristo
08 May 2011 | Ensenada Grande to Isla San Francisco
05 May 2011 | Isla Partida - Cardonal and Ensenada Grande
22 April 2011 | La Paz, BCS
21 April 2011 | La Paz, BCS
18 April 2011 | Mainland, BCS
16 April 2011 | Isla Isabella to Los Muertos
16 April 2011 | Mantachen Bay to Isla Isabella

Bahia de los Muertos

18 April 2011 | Mainland, BCS
Lisa - photos: see album - Bahia de los Muertos
Bahia de los Muertos (Bay of the Dead) - otherwise known as Bahia de los Suenos (Bay of Dreams - the developers tried to change the name in order to sell more condos)
18 - 20 April, 2011

We had arrived to Bahia de los Muertos anchorage with the intention of staying only one night - just rest a bit after our long crossing, then hurry to La Paz. But soon after anchoring, another dozen boats pulled in and dropped anchor.

For the first time since we left California in December, I finally felt like I was a cruiser. The moment came when I packed my running shoes and ipod into a dry bag and headed to shore on my paddle board for a beach run.
Soon after pulling up my board past the surf, I met two more paddlers - Mark and Ann from s/v Blue Rodeo and they told me about the beach potluck that was planned for tonight. I looked forward to the opportunity to make new cruising friends.

Two days turned into three after we discovered that a beautiful pool with a fast slide and cold beers served was available for cruisers to enjoy. We met up with Dave, Ann and Kara from s/v Taking Flight and spent the afternoon chilling under pool-side umbrellas while Savannah and Kara (6) splashed and wore out the slide.

It's beach party time !!!! We head back to the boat to dry out and prepare an appetizer dish to share - I'm trying to remember what I made... it's been a while. Oh yes, I did an olive, pickle, cheese, salami, cracker plate.
We met a handful of really nice couples. Let's see if I can recall some of them: Dave and Marissa on Pacifico, Larry and Karen from s/v Panta Rea, Howard and Lynn from s/v Swift Current, Ellen and Ian, the racing crew from Sirroco, and a handful more. I toasted with everyone as I celebrated my first cruisers beach potluck. I felt like I had become 'one of them'.

While we ate and drank, Kara, Autumn, Nick and Savannah enjoyed the surf and sand. They rolled, swam, dove, and tumbled until sand filled all their cracks and crevices. Tonight would be a shower night!

With bedtime for Savannah fast approaching, we packed up our empty appetizer plates and glasses and said good-night to the gang. As we motored back to Endorfin I thought about the fabulous evening and was grateful to meet other like-minded sailors. We would see them all again and enjoy more beach gatherings.
Comments
Vessel Name: Endorfin
Vessel Make/Model: 55' Bruce Roberts (built by Jomar)
Hailing Port: Channel Islands, California
Crew: Dan Olsen, Lisa Olsen, Savannah Olsen (8)
Extra: "Fulfilling our dreams one ocean at a time"
Home Page: www.tropicalcruiser.com

The Olsen's

Who: Dan Olsen, Lisa Olsen, Savannah Olsen (8)
Port: Channel Islands, California