Sandettie

16 February 2014 | Laos
15 February 2013 | Mexico
10 February 2013
03 February 2013 | In transit
27 December 2012 | Thailand
18 December 2012
26 October 2012 | Mae hong son
24 September 2012 | Myanmar
10 September 2012 | Thailand
31 August 2012 | South East Asia
23 August 2012 | Thailand
23 July 2012 | Thailand
22 June 2012 | Pai, Thailand
17 June 2012 | Me:Thailand. Boat: Mexico
16 June 2012 | Northern Thailand
15 June 2012 | Thailand
15 June 2012 | Maehongson
14 June 2012 | Thai/Burma border

Cowes week 1966

18 December 2012
This is my boat, under the control of the gent who commissioned it's building. The photograph was taken, so I'm led to believe, during Cowes Week in 1966.

I will stay here in Thailand for Christmas and will leave for the US and Mexico by 13th of February. In the meantime I want to visit a city called Pha Yao. I will ride there with a few mates and, following my recent sortie up to Vientiane in Laos, I want to go back there for a look at several geographic locations which were of strategic importance during the war which never happened. Y'know the one where the Kissinger and Johnson went nuts and tried to bomb the country out of existence before leaving and betraying the population.

I have my US visa stamped for six months. The process of getting a visa in the post 9/11 climate has been tedious and, it must be said the officials were, to an extent, obstructive. I guess it had something to do with me going in on a one way ticket. They reckoned I might not leave and seemed to be uncertain about me leaving via the Mexican border, rather than by the big silver bird out of LA.

Anyway all is sorted and soon, I will be afloat again. Yay!

Meanwhile, I have met some more great people at the guesthouse. JD (who wants to avoid the 5th dimension..Don't ask) from Utah and his lovely girl: and Jorje and his lovely girl, both from Mexico (whose Thai recreation involved a face plant from a motorbike). The world is full of really pleasant people. My personal philosophy regarding the entire race is proven once again to be a powerful tonic.
ie:
There are only two types of people in the world. There are good people and bad people. Cultivate the good and avoid the bad and you can't fail to have a good life.
Comments
Vessel Name: Sandettie
Vessel Make/Model: Custom Frans Maas Steel sloop
Hailing Port: Darwin
Crew: David
About: I sold my boat, went motorcycle riding in South East Asia, and have now bought a new boat in North America. In 2013, I will sail across the south Pacific ocean.
Extra: If you're not having fun...you're not having fun!

Sandettie

Who: David
Port: Darwin