Flour Girl

The Homeschooling of Zack on a Cheoy Lee Offshore 44

23 April 2017 | Ascension Island, South Atlantic
20 December 2016 | Richards Bay, South Africa
26 November 2016 | Richards Bay, South Africa
29 October 2016 | Moramba Bay,Madagascar
02 October 2016 | Russian Bay,Madagascar
28 August 2016 | Grand Bay, Mauritius
15 August 2016 | Port Mathurin, Rodrigues
18 July 2016 | Port Mathurin, Rodrigues
22 June 2016 | Cocos Keeling, Australia
07 June 2016 | Cocos Keeling Island, Australia
21 May 2016 | Cocos Keeling Island
01 April 2016 | Krabi Thailand
28 March 2016 | Phuket Thailand
10 March 2016 | Khao Lak, Thailand
28 February 2016 | Phi Phi Don, Thailand
16 February 2016 | Phuket Thailand
12 February 2016 | Phuket
22 January 2016 | Phuket Thailand
31 December 2015 | Phuket (poo-KET), Thailand

Waterbom

27 October 2015 | Bali, Indonesia
Kim
Culture Smulter it's Blair's birthday and we are going to Waterbom!!! I have honestly wanted to go to Waterbom since the second I heard about it. I am not so sure who or how the rating system works but by some unknown standard Waterbom is meant to be the third best water park in the world and number one in Asia. We had planned to leave Bali but then Zack got sick for four days and we decided we didn't have time. Then David got sick and we were not able to leave. And then it was Blair's birthday and we were still in Bali. It seemed like the universe just wanted me to go to Waterbom, so who am I to argue? Unfortunately David was not up for the day. So Zack, Angie and I headed out early to beat the crowds. When we arrived there was no line, good sign. Two slides were not operating so they gave us a 20% discount, fair enough. Kurt wasn't there yet with Bo, Blair and Brooke so we headed off to do some slides. First up, Pipeline. The slides have a rating system from 1 to 5. They are all pretty much rated 5. It doesn't make much sense because there is quite a difference in slides. Pipeline was fun but pretty average, maybe a 3. The slide next to Pipeline looked pretty scary, it was called Climax and was also rated 5. There was a capsule which you step inside and 3 seconds later the bottom drops out, sending you straight down a tube and then around a loop and to the end. No line here, but Zack does not weigh enough. You need to weigh 100 pounds or you may not make it through the loop which does go uphill. They did not ask me to step on the scale? Not sure why, but on the same note I don't seem to get carded for alcohol any longer, again not sure why. We made our way to the next slide tower. I am starting to see why this is a highly rated water park! The rides are scary and creative. We started with a ride we were calling the "Toilet Bowl" You get a tube and push down a steep slide. You come out and do circles until you flush down a hole onto a slide, cool. Next up on the same tower is Boomerang. This is scary. Looks like a skate board ramp. Two people on a sled tube, down a steep slide and then up the ramp. You go almost to the top and there is nothing to stop you, then down backwards into the pool. Oh Yeah!!

Kurt and his children have made it and knew where to find us, on the cool rides. Bo and Zack took off to do some rides together. Kurt, Angie and I took turns at the kiddie pools and slides with Brooke who is just 3 and so not able to do the big rides. Poor Brooke, but she doesn't know what she is missing so she is fine and having a great time. The little kid stuff is pretty sweet also. Onto the next tower. Huge slides to race down on mats and slides to sit on and race. And.... 2 more capsule rides. One goes into a curving slide and does not look terribly terrifying, the other is a straight shot down about 30 meters. It looks absolutely terrifying. Strangely no lines on either of these slides. We did the slides, easy but fast and fun. No running now we need to do the capsule drop. The first time is really scary. It takes a minute to get into the capsule and then it is over and you are going down, fast. It is a wild feeling to have the bottom fall out from under you, but you are in a closed tube so what can really happen? Still nobody is ready for the big drop. I am however ready to try climax. I went over to the tower to look for Zack and Bo, maybe get a bit of moral support. Nowhere to be found, so I am on my own. I suck it up and climb the stairs. I get into the capsule and count down from three, basically I just hold my breath and block my nose because I know the cranial enema is coming. This slide goes straight down a tube and it starts fast. I am flying downwards and then upwards and then down and up, down and up and now I know something is not quite right and I did not make it around the loop. I am having visions of myself having to crawl out of this slide and that does not sound like a lot of fun. When I finally stopped sliding back and forth I realized there was an escape hatch. Just a little embarrassing but not so bad. Apparently wearing a rash guard slows you down. I will have to try that one again later. It's not as much fun alone so I went in search of the group. I found them eating lunch, so I ordered a couple of fries and sat down. We were right near the kiddie pool so all good to relax a few minutes. It's Blair's birthday so her turn to choose a slide. We are off to do Python. Sounds scary, but the scary part is the wait. It is the only ride in the park with a long line. It's a four person tube ride and the only really "family" ride in the park so it is very popular. It's only about a 20 minute wait in line, so not so bad, we did it about 4 times as it was Blair's favorite. Then back to Climax. Angie watched the two little ones, Zack and Bo did Pipeline and Kurt and I did a marathon on Climax. Up the stairs, down the chute, (much better without rashie) up the stairs, down the chute. I think we had 4 turns each. Crazy and my favorite ride. No line and lots of adrenaline. Next up a couple of loops in the lazy river. This is where you float around a concrete stream in an inner tube. Ok but sort of too relaxing. In an effort to do more slides I threw it out to the kids that the park was closing soon and they should go if they wanted to do any slides again. Also an effort to save last minute disappointments at closing time. Strategy worked and we were off for one more ride for each kid. First Python for Blair. Long wait. Bo next on the Double Loop. Zack wants to do Pipeline and he's afraid he won't have time. I sent him to get Angie for one last ride. Kurt had the little one's so I took Bo. Up the stairs and to the slide. Swoosh, we are down. One more time. Up the stairs. But, halfway up Bo is talking about doing Smackdown 2.0, the capsule that launches you straight down abut 100 feet. I can't tell him I am scared so figuring that he wouldn't do it I agree to go. He is only 7 and Zack doesn't want to do it so I think I am going to be fine. Part of me doesn't want to leave the park without doing it because I don't think we will ever get back to Bali. So either way. We got to the top and again, no line. Bo took a few minutes and went back and forth a bit. The guy running the ride let him get in to just see how it felt and the little shit said "GO" He was gone and now I had no choice. I got in the capsule and it was the longest 3 seconds of my life and then it was over. You go so fast you don't even know what is happening, 3 seconds of terror and you are done. It was AWESOME! Bo was stoked! He said he had a shirt at home that says "just do It" and it reminds him to Just do it. He kept saying "Just do it" for the next 10 minutes, totally cool. Big issue now, I cannot let Zack not do this slide. On a mission to find Zack because it is now close to closing time. Finally track him down at his favorite slide, Pipeline. I told him no choice he has to do Smackdown. At first you would have thought I was marching him off to his death, but then he got into it. Bo jumped straight in and was gone. It is only the first time that is scary. Zack took a minute but then he got in. Flush, he was gone! My turn, no problem I love this ride. It was time to go, but the rest of the afternoon was spent saying, "Smackdown 2.0."

Kurt gave us a ride home and it was a sad good bye to the wicked fun and super cool Beckman family. We loved Bali and definitely one of the highlights of our entire journey.
Comments
Vessel Name: Flour Girl
Vessel Make/Model: Cheoy Lee Offshore 44
Hailing Port: Coral Bay, St John USVI
Social:
Flour Girl's Photos - Main
66 Photos
Created 16 October 2014
94 Photos
Created 15 June 2014
16 Photos
Created 3 February 2014
53 Photos
Created 18 October 2013
20 Photos
Created 22 September 2013
French polynesia
111 Photos
Created 2 August 2013
44 Photos
Created 18 July 2013
90 Photos
Created 6 June 2013
55 Photos
Created 8 April 2013
7 Photos
Created 8 April 2013
129 Photos
Created 11 February 2013
98 Photos
Created 26 January 2013
120 Photos
Created 7 January 2013
130 Photos
Created 7 December 2012
68 Photos
Created 16 November 2012
108 Photos
Created 12 November 2012
60 Photos
Created 15 September 2012
17 Photos
Created 27 August 2012
90 Photos
Created 26 August 2012
120 Photos
Created 26 August 2012
39 Photos
Created 2 August 2012
25 Photos
Created 27 July 2012
123 Photos
Created 31 May 2012