This IS retirement

27 November 2015 | Marina Fonatur Mazatlan
01 November 2015 | Guaymas/Fonatur Marina
30 April 2015 | La Paz City of Peace
14 April 2015 | La Cruz De Huanacaxtle
26 March 2015 | La Culebra, Colima....laguna
03 March 2015 | La Culebra, Colomilla, Isla Grande
08 February 2015 | Santiago/Manzanillo
07 January 2015 | Punta Mita
27 December 2014 | Rancho Cordova, Ca
14 December 2014 | Guaymas, Sonora, Mx.
04 December 2014 | Marina Seca Guaymas
22 November 2014 | Guaymas, Sonora, Mexico
16 November 2014 | Guaymas, Sonora, Mexico
03 May 2014 | Loreto, BCS, Mexico
21 April 2014 | Virtual marina La Paz
02 April 2014 | La Cruz de Huanacaxtle/P.V.
18 March 2014 | Barra De Navidad/Colimilla
24 February 2014 | Colimilla/La Culebra/Isla Grande
18 February 2014 | Santiago/Manzanillo
28 January 2014 | La Paz City of Peace

I AM NOT COMPLAINING!!!!

05 March 2009 | La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
Gabriellas grandapa
I know you like to hear that the weather is nice(which it is) and the food is terrific(which it is) and it is a tropical paradise(which it is) but, I would not do justice to this blog or the info I put out if I didn't tell you everything(almost) that goes on down here. This is a blow by blow description of the trip down from Barra to La Cruz. As you know, I take great pains in travelling north in the best weather windows I can find because I'm in no hurry. I left Barra with nice southerly winds up to 12 knots..perfect, right? As I was approaching Chamela, I had a decision to make about stopping for the night or doing a all nighter to La Cruz. I decided to stop because the winds for the next day were out of the southwest up to 12 knots and that would be good enough to do a beam reach to Cabo Corrientes and into Banderas Bay. Had a nice night at anchor in Chamela and did a lazy late morning departure for La Cruz be cause it would have to be an overnighter anyway. Well, the wind was more west than I wanted and I was tacking out to sea then trying to point up the coast without running into land. The head sail I was using was my loose luff drifter and I can't point into the wind high enough with that sail so I doused it and was motor-sailing north to make better time. When I took down the drifter I tucked it under my dinghy I had on the foredeck and tied a line around it so it wouldn't blow away. I checked on it about 30 minutes later and it looked fine, so I thought nothing more about it. About an hour later I was making good time motor-sailing with just the main up in real junky seas(6 to 8 feet) when all of a sudden my engine went clunk and stopped dead. I glanced over to my left and saw my new white drifter in the water. What happened was the drifter broke loose from it's not so secure tie down and washed overboard and sucked into my prop. Now there is only about 45 minutes of daylight left and I have no propulsion. So I go forward to release the drifter and find out that it is so tight that I have to break out my dremel tool and start my generator and cut it loose. Then I go back to put on my shorty and fins and grab a big knife to cut it off with. Just as I was going to get in the water a whale blew about 10 feet off my stern quarter and I thought he would never clear the drifting sail or my boat..but he did. SOMEBODY IS TRYING TO TELL ME SOMETHING. So I go into the tossing sea with the knife in hand and ropes dangling off the stern for me to grab so I won't get pushed away from the boat. I was hoping I could save the sail and just unwrap it...no luck there. So I started to cut..cut..cut away at my new sail as the boat was sliding sideways and forward and the sail was drifting away from me..thank God. Finally, just as the sun was setting, I cut the last piece off and climb back aboard the boat. Started the engine and put it in gear and everything was fine. I know Karen is biting her nails and cussing me for taking on these dangerous tasks, but there were no other options. I told this story to the sailmaker here in La Cruz (who is mending my other headsails) and he told me how dangerous it was with a drifter because the material is so light and could easily wrap around me and that would be that....Karen, I was being careful... I made sure the sail stayed down-current from me. So you see.....sailing in Paradise isn't always just guacamole and chips and sipping double coca lights. The photo is all that's left of my new drifter................
Comments
Vessel Name: Mannasea
Vessel Make/Model: Piver 36AA Trimaran
Hailing Port: San Diego
Crew: Grumpy grandpa/Phil Perkins
About: After spending the most wonderful 5 years of my life with my grandaughter Gabriella, it's my turn to go cruising. I'll keep going as long as it's fun and if I can get rid of this nagging feeling of returning to my grandaughter..
Mannasea's Photos - This IS retirement (Main)
Photos 1 to 115 of 115
1
My departure from Rio Vista to Mexico
Gabriella knows I
Her famous neck tugs.
Tenacatita cruise
Mom and sister
Tenacatita gang
too much Dramamine and sun
Dad..a lobster fisherman
Yoana
reglassing crushed ama
reglassing the strut area
Port steering pulley
Starboard side steering pulley that fell off
Dr. Lilian and sister Sofia
Dr. Lilian and Manuel
Sofia...is she really enjoying the trip?
Dr. Lilian and Manuel
My precious...........
Barbara (second from left) and Tom (tall). My friends from Hooligan enjoying the Christmas feast.
A typical Christmas scene you can find anywhere in the world...right?    Sands hotel pool and bar area where we had our Christmas feast.
Vendor on the malecon in Barra.
Vendor on Malecon selling papaya, pineapple, and cocnuts.
The beginning of refurbishing the chairs and tables.
The rusty and dirty fan that jumped out and cut my fingers.
Put these colors up against the gringo colors that I applied....big differrence.
Before...boys banos.
My Christmas dinner plate. Susan, I made apple pie and the cruisers would not believe that I actually made it from scratch......Delicious.
Old colors...starting of the prep.
Media room
Mannasea as seen from the school. Anchored in front of the Isla in the Barra lagoon.
School entrance painted 2 years ago...nice lettering, eh?
Before and after
Before and after....most of the chairs had the watermelon paint.
Main classroom....bookshelf.
This is what most of the walls looked like before painting.
Tom putting the bookshelf slats back on after painting in the squares.
Jim putting on one of three coats of polyurethane after the maple stain.
The master culprit who disrupted the tranquility of cruisers in the lagoon.
Rob suffering through the alklyd paint application in the banos.
After....note the scaffolding to the left of the tree....now put an extension ladder on top of that!
Before........
Before
After
After
After
All the masking and paint still got through
Sanford and son
At the fuel dock minus the mast
Ready to ease into the water
Looks like a monster
Semana Santa revellers
Their favorite beach activity...to cover each other in sand.
Even the dogs get into the act.
My lonely boat.
No pooping sign on a gringos newly purchased property.
Chacal...Semanaaaa Santaaaa.
Kindergarten building
Looking down from basketball court
Ocean mural by Mario Tellos
Courtyard
The entire 1st thru 6th grades.
The mural done by Mario Tellos
Ditto
The kindergarten class with art work by Mario Tellos.
The kindergarten banos.
This is my heart medicine...climbing to take these pics.
I love these vistas.
Tucked in behind the sandspit.
The dark spot due north of my boat is a sunken 40ft sailboat.
Mexicans were camping out on the beach celebrating Semana Santa.
I love the water colors. The yacht in the background is Besame with lovely Merry onboard.
The clarity of the water just isn
I will have to do a better job of underwater Photography
This is what the whales and dolphins get to see. They all know my granddaughter now.
Iguanas on Isla Isabella
Blue-footed Boobys on Isla Isabella
The fish camp on Isla Isabella
The 2 classrooms at the Colimilla school.
The computer room at Colimilla school.
I love looking down on the boat from up high.
This is half way up to the top.
Just above the pool area.
From the Paradise restaurant where the food is great and the view is better.
From another restaurant where the prices are through the roof.
Looking up to the Paradise restaurant from the beach palapas.
Just coming up from a dive.
I was disappointed in the clarity of the water around Isla Grande.
These are just a few of the hundreds of fish that were seeking protection from birds under my boat.
This Iguana lives with the Crocodiles.
Egads!!!!! Cocodrillos..............
Nice fat croc.
The start of Zihua Sailfest.
Princess and Grandpa on the front porch.
Gabriellas snow person.
My work attire doesn
Air conditioned bus in Mexico.
This is my view from the palapa.
Guacamole and chips with a double coca light to wash it down.
Yawn....another sunset in Paradise.
Looking at Chacala from the boat.
The boat from the dinghy landing.
The boat from the Port Captains office.
The boat from the beach.
I decided to do a little remodeling while doing my once in 10 year cleaning.
Sunrise coming into Mazatlan
Look at water temperature....And to think I can
This squid thought it could sun on my deck....I think he got cooked!
Sitting peacefully in La Paz
Beautiful sunrise as entering the La Paz bay.
Cruiseship Ryndam at dock in Guaymas.
Added some blanco(white) pigment to the bottom paint and presto..G
I tried to duplicate Gabriellas stick figure drawing.
My new hulls...white white. New graphics.
 
1
4 Photos
Created 1 November 2015
These will all be (dumb) smartphone images.....lousy camera.
20 Photos
Created 4 March 2015
6 Photos
Created 28 December 2013
3 Photos
Created 15 November 2012
4 Photos
Created 2 January 2010
5 Photos
Created 17 October 2009