Mostly Harmless

07 March 2008 | Richmond, BC
24 November 2007 | Aukland Harbour, New Zealand
14 November 2007 | 275 NM north of Kiwi Land
11 November 2007 | 450 NM from Whangarei
08 November 2007 | 600 NM from Whangarei
06 November 2007 | A couple miles outside North Minerva Reef
05 November 2007 | North Minerva Reef - day 2
05 November 2007 | North Minerva Reef
04 November 2007 | about 40 nm north of Minerva
03 November 2007 | somewhere in between Tongatapu and Minevera Reefs
31 October 2007 | Tonga - Nuku'Alofa - still
31 October 2007 | Tonga - Nuku'Alofa
14 October 2007 | Nukualofa - Tongatapu - Kingdom of Tonga
28 September 2007 | Vava'u, Tonga
13 September 2007 | Niue
31 August 2007 | Rarotonga, Cook Islands
27 August 2007 | 150 miles SE of Bora Bora
28 July 2007 | Leeward Island
23 July 2007 | Moorea, FP
15 July 2007 | Papeete, Tahiti

The Pirate Head Bar

09 April 2007 | False Bay, Lasqueti Island
Morgan MacKay
"Is there a bar in town?" I asked across the water to the owner of a large ketch moored in the bay.

"Yes"

"What?"

"It's a seedy Pub"

"It's a what?"

"You'll like it"

The Pirate Head Bar is the pub above the government dock in False Bay.

I sat down at the bar at order a beer. Looking around the bar, everything told me this was a rough place. For the first few minutes, I wasn't sure if I was going to be able to finish my first beer before I became the center of good bar brawl.

But as the guy across the water told me, I liked the place with in a few minutes. The local were very friendly, the bartend in control and the beer was fresh, cold and cheap.

The patrons were all locals and it was clear that I was the only one that didn't know everyone by name. They asked questions like which fish boat I was off and if I was the skipper. The bartender was motorcycle collector and we talked bikes.

Beer and scotch flowed across the bar, but the air felt of drugs and was evident on the faces of a few of the local. I figure some of them had been strung up all long weekend.

Four dark beers later, it was time to go home for dinner before I ended up drinking moonshine and playing poker with the locals until sunrise, again.
Comments
Vessel Name: Mostly Harmless
Vessel Make/Model: C&C 40
Hailing Port: Steveston, BC, Canada
Crew: Morgan MacKay
About: Mostly Single Handed. Currently crew in the South Pacific: Vanessa. Crewed to Hawaii: Tyler Borges.
Extra: Bought in 2005 on Seattle WA, Wendigo became Mostly Harmless registered in Vancouver BC. Over the last year, she has undergone a transformation from a soft middle aged performance cruiser to capable offshore passage maker.

Mostly Harmless

Who: Morgan MacKay
Port: Steveston, BC, Canada