Mostly Harmless

07 March 2008 | Richmond, BC
24 November 2007 | Aukland Harbour, New Zealand
14 November 2007 | 275 NM north of Kiwi Land
11 November 2007 | 450 NM from Whangarei
08 November 2007 | 600 NM from Whangarei
06 November 2007 | A couple miles outside North Minerva Reef
05 November 2007 | North Minerva Reef - day 2
05 November 2007 | North Minerva Reef
04 November 2007 | about 40 nm north of Minerva
03 November 2007 | somewhere in between Tongatapu and Minevera Reefs
31 October 2007 | Tonga - Nuku'Alofa - still
31 October 2007 | Tonga - Nuku'Alofa
14 October 2007 | Nukualofa - Tongatapu - Kingdom of Tonga
28 September 2007 | Vava'u, Tonga
13 September 2007 | Niue
31 August 2007 | Rarotonga, Cook Islands
27 August 2007 | 150 miles SE of Bora Bora
28 July 2007 | Leeward Island
23 July 2007 | Moorea, FP
15 July 2007 | Papeete, Tahiti

Vanessa Arrives

15 July 2007 | Papeete, Tahiti
Morgan MacKay/Vanessa
Vanessa flew in on the Saturday evening flight. I took "Le Truck" out to the airport about an hour early. I was worried she was going to have problems bringing a $1000 of spare radio parts through customs. I was getting ready to have to bail her out. All my worrying was unfounded, and she arrived on time, in good spirits with two bags of clothes and a bag of boat parts. Boy was I a glad to see her!

I was also worried that I was going to have trouble at customs but, no issues at all. It had been a long, very long day. My journey had started almost 24 hours earlier back in Vancouver. My day of travel went well with only a small glitch in LA. I had to buy a return ticket home from Papeete or they were not going to let me on my connecting flight...no worries that's what credit cards are for...and I already got it refunded. My flight from LA to Papeete was great: personal TV's (with movies, music, and video games), good food, smooth ride, free drinks and to top it off I had both seats to myself. The minute the plane door opened I was ready to bolt. I have never been so happy to see someone as I was to see Morgan waiting for me as came through customs...finally my extremely long nine week wait was over!

Papeete was really cool. Nice place for my transition from North American to island life.

Vanessa and I spend two more nights in the harbour quay. On the Monday, we motored over to the main anchorage on the other side of the airport. This anchorage was huge with about 75 boats at anchor and another 75 boats moored to the Marina Taina docks. Unlike at home, 90% of the boats were sailboats. The water was crystal clear. We snorkeled on the barrier reef that makes up the harbour. Vanessa saw here first ever stingray.

Anchoring at Taina was great. Swimming off the back of the boat, sun tanning, and hanging out with some of the other cruisers. The snorkeling was fantastic. I will admit the stingray scared me at first. One night we went to the Dinghy Bar at the marina for drinks. It was just like something you would see on TV...with tables on the grass under the stars and tiki torches to top it off.

On the Tuesday we rented a car with another couple (Ray and Marilyn from S/V Horizon) and drove around the island stopping at all sorts of spots. The highlight being a visit to a trio of waterfalls an hour hike up form the main road. The last stop at sunset was Point Venus at the top of the island. This is the point that Captain Cook used as a base for watching some astronomical events and is now a very nice park with a huge lighthouse.
Comments
Vessel Name: Mostly Harmless
Vessel Make/Model: C&C 40
Hailing Port: Steveston, BC, Canada
Crew: Morgan MacKay
About: Mostly Single Handed. Currently crew in the South Pacific: Vanessa. Crewed to Hawaii: Tyler Borges.
Extra: Bought in 2005 on Seattle WA, Wendigo became Mostly Harmless registered in Vancouver BC. Over the last year, she has undergone a transformation from a soft middle aged performance cruiser to capable offshore passage maker.

Mostly Harmless

Who: Morgan MacKay
Port: Steveston, BC, Canada