Next Verse

09 January 2013 | Port Canaveral, FL
13 November 2012 | Key West, FL
26 October 2012 | Key West, FL
16 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
13 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
10 October 2012 | Key Largo, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
05 October 2012 | Cocoa Beach, FL
04 October 2012 | New Smyrna Beach, FL
03 October 2012 | St Augustine
01 October 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
30 August 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
25 August 2012 | Isle of Hope, GA
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC

Made it!

28 August 2009 | Annapolis, MD
Mike
Well, from what I was hearing, the NWS was predicting that Danny would remain off shore for the time being so I went. I was up and off at 0600 this morning.

The weather was unsettled to say the least. According to you-know-who, there was a stalled warm front in the area, an approaching cold front and several thunderstorms wandering around in every direction. I could see lightning on western horizon as I left the dock and, as I left the Patuxent River, I watched a brilliant RED sunrise. ("Red sky at morning, sailor take warning")

Most of the trip up the Chesapeake was overcast, drizzly and windy. Fortunately, the wind was on my starboard beam for most of the trip and I was
able to motorsail for most of the day and average nearly 7 knots. About half way through the trip, the Coast Guard began broadcasting "Warnings to Mariners" regarding severe weather in the area with the closing admonition to "seek safe harbor immediately" if you were in the path of the storm. (I hate it when they say that....You try seeking safe harbor immediately when you're more than five nautical miles from land in any direction and your maximum speed is about 7 knots)

For most of the day, the areas mentioned did not happen to be where I was at the time. As I was arriving in Annapolis, that changed. I had no more than passed the Thomas Point lighthouse when the next weather advisory included that location as being in the path of a severe thunderstorm. (Swell!)

This particular storm hit right as I was getting tied up at my marina, which made my arrival a little more exhilirating than I would have liked, but no harm done. Anyway, I got checked in and Norma is scheduled to be hauled out on Monday. My plan is to post updates regarding the work, complete with pictures.

Here's a picture from the trip up.
Comments
Vessel Name: Norma Fay
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 386
Hailing Port: Racine, Wisconsin
Crew: Mike Miller
About: I recently retired from the trop-rock band the "Boat Drunks" and I'm going sailing. Heading through the Eastern Great Lakes, down the ICW and to the Bahamas for starters. Then...We'll see!

Norma Fay

Who: Mike Miller
Port: Racine, Wisconsin