Next Verse

09 January 2013 | Port Canaveral, FL
13 November 2012 | Key West, FL
26 October 2012 | Key West, FL
16 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
13 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
10 October 2012 | Key Largo, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
05 October 2012 | Cocoa Beach, FL
04 October 2012 | New Smyrna Beach, FL
03 October 2012 | St Augustine
01 October 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
30 August 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
25 August 2012 | Isle of Hope, GA
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC

A Brief Unexpected Stop

13 October 2009 | Belhaven, NC
Mike
I left the dock at Midway Marina just after 0700 in some rather thick fog. As I proceeded south, I noticed that the prefered course line on my chart plotter went to the left of green day marker "129" which is contrary to where it should be. With the reduced visibility, it was even more disorienting than it might have otherwise been. While I was still trying to decide which way to go, I went aground. Drat!

I looked around and figured out where the deep water probably was just as another sailboat went aground about fifty yards south of me. I pointed the bow toward where I thought the channel was and raised the jib. This caused the boat to heel just enough to get the keel off the bottom and I got free.

I continued south and crossed Albermarle Sound and entered the Alligator River. I then entered the Albermarle River / Pungo River Canal and motored to Belhaven where I planned to anchor for the night. As I got closer to Belhaven, I heard on the radio that they were forcasting the passage of a front after midnight with accompanying high winds.

In the interest of getting a better night's sleep, I arranged for a slip at Dowry Creek Marina. I arrived just after sunset and tied up for the night.
Comments
Vessel Name: Norma Fay
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 386
Hailing Port: Racine, Wisconsin
Crew: Mike Miller
About: I recently retired from the trop-rock band the "Boat Drunks" and I'm going sailing. Heading through the Eastern Great Lakes, down the ICW and to the Bahamas for starters. Then...We'll see!

Norma Fay

Who: Mike Miller
Port: Racine, Wisconsin