Next Verse

09 January 2013 | Port Canaveral, FL
13 November 2012 | Key West, FL
26 October 2012 | Key West, FL
16 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
13 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
10 October 2012 | Key Largo, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
05 October 2012 | Cocoa Beach, FL
04 October 2012 | New Smyrna Beach, FL
03 October 2012 | St Augustine
01 October 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
30 August 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
25 August 2012 | Isle of Hope, GA
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC

Long Time at Sea

14 November 2010 | Off the Coast of the Carolinas
Mike
I was up early and under way by 0700. I got the main up as I entered the channel and proceeded out onto the Atlantic. It was a beautiful morning with a light northerly wind which put it on my starboard quarter. I noticed a sailboat a mile or so in front of me who seemed to be going in the same direction.

I hailed them on the radio and found that "Dream Catcher" was also headed to Charleston and also eventually to Key West. (Small world...) Even though we lost sight of each other as the day progressed, it was good to know that someone else was out there.

Once I was on the open ocean and had the auto pilot set, I was free to read, wander around the boat, make lunch, etc. It was a far cry from travelling down the ICW.

About 1:15, I was reading in the cockpit when I heard a splash and a spraying sound just outside the cockpit. This turned out to be the first of several large schools of dolphin to visit me today. This school stayed with me for about twenty minutes and they were jumping and playing all around the boat.

Two of them kept taking turns swimming directly beneath my bowsprit keeping perfect pace with the boat. I managed to walk up and get their picture. Since I was able to get so many cool pictures, I decided to break this post up into segments. Here are my buddies!
Comments
Vessel Name: Norma Fay
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 386
Hailing Port: Racine, Wisconsin
Crew: Mike Miller
About: I recently retired from the trop-rock band the "Boat Drunks" and I'm going sailing. Heading through the Eastern Great Lakes, down the ICW and to the Bahamas for starters. Then...We'll see!

Norma Fay

Who: Mike Miller
Port: Racine, Wisconsin