Next Verse

09 January 2013 | Port Canaveral, FL
13 November 2012 | Key West, FL
26 October 2012 | Key West, FL
16 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
13 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
10 October 2012 | Key Largo, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
05 October 2012 | Cocoa Beach, FL
04 October 2012 | New Smyrna Beach, FL
03 October 2012 | St Augustine
01 October 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
30 August 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
25 August 2012 | Isle of Hope, GA
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC

Lessons Learned So Far.....

25 March 2012 | Jekyll Island, GA
Mike
As the fourth anniversary of my cruising life approaches, I decided to compile a (partial) list of lessons that I've learned.

I always cringe a little bit when people tell me that I'm "living the dream." I know that they mean well but its really not quite that simple. Don't get me wrong, I still really enjoy the lifestyle but its still life. It has its ups and downs like anything else..... but, well....OK, it does beat working!

Anyway, I feel like I've gotten better at it but I still have a lot to learn. I try to learn something every time I go out. In fact, I would submit that, if you don't learn something, you probably weren't paying enough attention. Without further ado... here's my list:

1.) Don't try to sail where the birds are walking.

2.) Stay humble... It saves Mother Nature trouble of humbling you.

3.) When bad weather causes you to delay a departure, remember "its better to be in here, wishing you were out there than to be out there, wishing you were in here." I've done both... and its true!

4.) When the information on your chart plotter conflicts with what you're seeing with your eyes, go with your eyes. (see lesson #1)

5.) When going off-shore, there is no such thing as being too prepared. As the old saying goes "The sea floor is littered with the bones of optimists"

6.) If your boat has a defect that you have not yet noticed, the ocean will point it out to you. (To quote my hero, Captain Ron, "If its gonna happen, it's gonna happen out there!")

7.) Always adapt your strategy to the weather and sea conditions. I guarantee that Mother Nature will NOT reciprocate and she never loses an argument.

8.) Watch out for the other guy.... Just because someone is operating a large and expensive boat, that does not necessarily mean that they're not an idiot! (remember the Itallian cruise ship from last winter?)

9.) When it comes to hazards to navigation like reefs, shoals and rocks, I subscribe to the theory that "if its too far away to see, its awfully hard to hit."

10.) Always have a plan "B."

11.) Everything on your boat is broken, you just don't know it yet.

Well, there you go.... As I said just a partial list and I definitely still have a lot to learn. Thanks to all of you have been following my blog these years.
Comments
Vessel Name: Norma Fay
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 386
Hailing Port: Racine, Wisconsin
Crew: Mike Miller
About: I recently retired from the trop-rock band the "Boat Drunks" and I'm going sailing. Heading through the Eastern Great Lakes, down the ICW and to the Bahamas for starters. Then...We'll see!

Norma Fay

Who: Mike Miller
Port: Racine, Wisconsin