Next Verse

09 January 2013 | Port Canaveral, FL
13 November 2012 | Key West, FL
26 October 2012 | Key West, FL
16 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
13 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
10 October 2012 | Key Largo, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
05 October 2012 | Cocoa Beach, FL
04 October 2012 | New Smyrna Beach, FL
03 October 2012 | St Augustine
01 October 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
30 August 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
25 August 2012 | Isle of Hope, GA
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC

Whast a difference a Day Makes...

16 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
Mike
Yesterday morning, I was rowing my dinghy ashore with the intent of getting the supplies that I thought I would need to fix my outboard when SNAP, I broke the left-side oar lock on my dinghy. I finally made it ashore and, with a renewed sense of purpose, set out on my quest.

First, I discovered that West Marine had the replaceement oar lock. Now, bear in mind we're talking about a plastic collar on a pivoting shaft with a screw down the middle. For this little item, West Marine wanted 42.00!!!! Instead, I bought a new screw and some super glue and decided to try a temporary fix. After all, I was going to fix my motor anyway, right?

Well, I bought new fuel and carbuerator cleaner and then rowed back to the boat on my newly glued oar lock. So far so good. Well, after draining the old fuel, replacing it, taking the carbuerator off,cleaning it and putting it back on, I still could not keep the engine running.

I finally gave up and rowed ashore to shower and call it a day. At least I could row again. On the way back to the boat SNAP went the oar lock again. CRAP! Needless to say, I went to bed last night feeling a little discouraged.

This morning, I prepared to hold my nose and pay West Marine 42.00 for a new oar lock. At least I'd have one reliable way of getting to shore. After dog-paddling my way to the dinghy dock, I spoke to one of ladies at the marina who suggested that I check with Eric at Coastline Dinghy Repair. She said that he might have a replacement oar lock. Sure enough, he did! For ten bucks. YAY! Take that, West Marine!

Since I was on a roll, I assked Eric about my engine problem,. He told me that knew exactly what was wrong and explained how to remove and clean the two jets that were clogged. I walked back to the marina and rowed back to my boat, took the carbuerator off, removed the jets, cleaned them as instructed and v'room!

As of this writing, I now have working oars and a working motor! Tonight, I motored ashore for my shower.. Ahhhh.....
Comments
Vessel Name: Norma Fay
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 386
Hailing Port: Racine, Wisconsin
Crew: Mike Miller
About: I recently retired from the trop-rock band the "Boat Drunks" and I'm going sailing. Heading through the Eastern Great Lakes, down the ICW and to the Bahamas for starters. Then...We'll see!

Norma Fay

Who: Mike Miller
Port: Racine, Wisconsin