Next Verse

09 January 2013 | Port Canaveral, FL
13 November 2012 | Key West, FL
26 October 2012 | Key West, FL
16 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
13 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
10 October 2012 | Key Largo, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
05 October 2012 | Cocoa Beach, FL
04 October 2012 | New Smyrna Beach, FL
03 October 2012 | St Augustine
01 October 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
30 August 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
25 August 2012 | Isle of Hope, GA
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC

Great Sail to Great Sale

09 February 2009 | Great Sale Cay
Mike
This morning I was awake to watch the sunrise and it was as pretty as the sunset last night. We had the anchors up early and I followed "Radical Jack" out of the anchorage and around the island. Jason was up last and followed me on "Veronica."

Today the winds were still out of the east but somewhat lighter. It was sunny and warm and the waters were fairly flat. We enjoyed a beautiful day and a great sail to Great Sale Cay, another uninhabited, but much larger, island.

I have another dolphin encounter to report. I know, I know but hey, I'm from Central Illinois so bear with me here! Now these dolphins were traveling in the opposite direction as I was. I first saw them about 300 yards away and they were coming toward me. They passed me and turned around and started swimming along side me and started to jump and play in my bow wave. This was a pod of about ten dolphins with two babies. They did this for about ten minutes and this time I have pictures to prove it!!

Now think about this..... They were obviously going somewhere with babies in tow. Spontaneously, they decide to alter course to play for a few minutes before continuing on their way. No wonder people (including me) are so fascinated by dolphins. I mean really, what other non-domesticated adult animals just suddenly decide it's play time, let alone decide to play and interact with people in the process. OK, I'll shut up about it...(for now)... but it was freakin' cool!!!

Anyway, we dropped the hook at Great Sale Cay...blah blah blah....beautiful anchorage....beautiful sunset....yadda yadda yadda. Full moon rising (I guess tonight is technically the real full moon) over the water while we gathered in Radical Jack's cockpit for cocktails. Plan is for an early start tomorrow to make it to Spanish Cay before dark. Here's to dolphins...Cheers!!
Comments
Vessel Name: Norma Fay
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 386
Hailing Port: Racine, Wisconsin
Crew: Mike Miller
About: I recently retired from the trop-rock band the "Boat Drunks" and I'm going sailing. Heading through the Eastern Great Lakes, down the ICW and to the Bahamas for starters. Then...We'll see!

Norma Fay

Who: Mike Miller
Port: Racine, Wisconsin