Hukilau Sails the Sound

Back in the Saddle

27 May 2011
About two weeks ago, I went to the boat, removed the cover and washed the boat. The weather has been awful the past two weeks, with almost continuous cloudy skies and rain.

On Sunday (May 22), Scott met me at the boat and we waxed the boat and painted the bottom. I had plenty of compound, but not enough Maguires wax, nor enough West Marine One Step. Also, I didn't know if Scott was going to be to help, and I really wanted to get the boat in the water this week in time for Memorial Day. So I wanted to use one of the one step products in order to be sure that I would have the time to do the job myself if necessary. Rather than drive all the way to West Marine to get more One Step, I picked up some Mother's Marine Cleaning Wax at Richlin. I also got some painting supplies and an application bonnet for my "new" buffer. Love Richlin.

Scott was able to come and spend time, and we quickly took care of things. The Mother's looked good, and we used up the rest of the bottom paint that I had. Not enough to cover the bottom, but enough to get the trouble spots and then some. We also put the engine on the bracket, and told Chick we were ready to go.

The marina launched us and Scott and I went back out yesterday after work to put on the sails and check the engine. The sails went on without a hitch (although the main really needs to be washed), but the battery didn't have enough juice to start the engine. We did start her on one pull, and after she ran for about ten minutes, the battery did have enough juice to start her. Proof that the new ignition switch (cost: $194!) works.

We plan to go out tomorrow with all of the Levines. That means six of us. A little tight, but that's what friends do. Hope the weather holds.
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.